33Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've lived in Seattle for about seven years now. I'm originally from the midwest, but I do enjoy the Northwest. I'm kind of a big nerd, but I also try getting out into the mountains and going to drinking establishments and all that.
What I’m doing with my life
Dropped out of graduate school (got my M.A. so I can pretend I finished) and am working in e-commerce or whatever.

My research right now (update: then) involves lots of computer simulations in which fake people engage in fake risky behavior, watching and learning from each other as they go.
I’m really good at
I'm fairly good at math and making up pointless white lies.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Recent kicks (constant flux): Nabokov, Stanislaw Lem, Bowie, Iain M Banks, Octavia Butler, Ada Palmer, The Kinks, TV on the Radio, Chungking Express, Community. I'm pretty cheap when it comes to food, so I really like good stuff that can be cooked with simple ingredients.

Going out to eat, I like a pretty wide variety - about once every two months I need a hamburger.
Six things I could never do without
1. My glasses. I don't like impaired vision.
2. Variety - too much of the same old stuff leaves me a bit depressed.
3. Routines. I need those as well.
4. Tea. I drink lots of tea. I used to drink lots of coffee and tea, but now it's mainly tea. **Update: Coffee is back in the mix**
5. Difficult but well-defined problems. When life is too easy, or I'm not sure what comes next, that's when things go south.
6. Carbohydrates. I love 'em. I only sometimes bake, but I always like to eat baked goods.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Space, robots, social science stuff, what other people are thinking about. I also tend to spend a lot of time reliving embarrassing moments from the past, all the way down to my childhood.
On a typical Friday night I am
Generally having drinks with friends - sometimes something like Karaoke (I'm a terrible singer, but I think I can butcher some songs in a manner somewhat enjoyable to those forced to watch and listen). Sometimes at home watching a movie or doing work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I worry about people I know seeing my profile... (which is 20% private admission and 80% explanation why I'm unwilling to put anything too private).
You should message me if
Message me if you want to. I don't bite. **Update: Sometimes I bite**
The two of us