64Augusta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'll start with my age and a personal description: I'm 61 years old and I have been single for a number of years. I have been living alone for even longer and I have come to enjoy my life living alone. However, there are times that I miss having a partner and all the ups and downs that go with that territory. I live in a beautiful, historic and secluded part of town and I have an active life which I enjoy immensely but I find the opportunities to meet new people are often limited so I thought I would give okcupid a try and see what happens. One never knows what might occur!
What I’m doing with my life
After nearly 25 years of an interesting but incredibly stressful job with the Legislature, I decided to opt for early retirement in 2007. Without a doubt, it was one of the best decisions I have ever made. I traded unbelievable stress and financial certainty for a reasonable life that offers me many more choices every day albeit without the same financial safety blanket. When I retired, I simultaneously decided to start my own part-time public policy consulting firm which has expanded my professional horizon considerably and I have enjoyed learning about many new subjects. The downside to the consulting world is its near complete lack of predictability. My number of clients at any one time seems to run hot or cold and I would gladly settle for lukewarm but a lot of that is out of my hands.

Being semi-retired gives me much more time to do things that I am passionate about. Though I am not a musician, I have an intense love for many genres of music and this passion finally found a creative outlet a few years ago when I started doing a weekly 2 hour radio show featuring music that I love. I'm a child of the 1960s so my musical base starts there. I have an abiding love for Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Grateful Dead, The Band, Joni Mitchell and you may able to guess at the rest of that list. One of the many blessings of doing my own radio show is the inevitable expansion of my musical universe; some of my more recent favorites include Eilen Jewell, John Prine, Hayes Caryll, Laura Cantrell, most music from Austin, Texas and a whole host of music from a variety of styles. As a natural outgrowth of my current musical tastes, I have developed the pleasant habit of traveling to Austin each spring for music and no, I don't attend SXSW!

Another of my great passions is my love for Matinicus Island which is located some 20 miles out from Rockland, Maine. Matinicus is my favorite place in the world and I have been renting out there for nearly 20 years. I manage to get out there at least once a year and more often when the gods are with me. Matinicus is a place of great beauty and solitude and I appreciate every moment that I am there. Matinicus does not have any stores or places to eat and that works fine for me. I bring everything I need including my wonderful Golden Retriever named Mickey whose idea of heaven is chasing balls on the Matinicus beaches for hours.

I have also kept myself quite busy with the restoration of my sturdy but older home which was built in 1903. I have been here for 10 years now and I have been restoring the house by myself room by room. I am about two thirds done. The whole project has been a challenge and I have discovered an emerging patience that I didn't always used to have. Some aspects of getting older are definitely worth it!
I’m really good at
I am quite good at being semi-retired and enjoying the life I have created for myself. I also have no problem finding things to do everyday that feel worthwhile and interesting.
The first things people usually notice about me
I guess what people first notice about me is rather obvious: I'm a bit on the tall side at 6', normal weight, obviously balding and hopefully- a pleasant and kind disposition!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite Books: well written historical fiction, poetry (William Stafford, Rumi, Robert Bly, Naomi Shihab Nye and many others)

Favorite Movies: White Palace, One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest, The Godfather Parts I and II, The Big Chill and many others

Shows: The Good Wife, West Wing, Homeland, Sports Night

Music: a virtually endless list which includes Bob Dylan, Eilen Jewell, The Grateful Dead, Sam Baker, The Beatles, Joni Mitchell, Greg Copeland, Fred Eaglesmith, Townes van Zandt, Hayes Carll, The Band, Willie Nelson, Shelby Lynne...

Food: I like lots of different foods but my favorite is Greek!
Six things I could never do without
1. My two grown children
2. the possibility of going to Matinicus Island
3. doing my weekly radio show full of the music I'm passionate about
4. the home that I live in
5. my dearest friends
6. my incredible Golden Retriever named Mickey
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I think a lot about my present life and how fortunate I am. Another thought that occurs to me frequently with some surprise is the realization that as i get older, my life is getting better.
On a typical Friday night I am
Most Friday nights I am home enjoying my life in a fairly quiet way. I usually listen to lots of music, do some reading, walk my dog and will often watch a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
After many years of living alone, I realize that this is what I have become used to and it ain't all bad!
You should message me if
I hope to hear from you if what I have had to say sounds interesting to you. For the most part, it also is important that your circumstances fit into the kind of person that I am looking for as mentioned above.
The two of us