Matt570
33 Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Matt570
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a scientist, by nature and trade. I do my best to lead an evidence-based life and I think that's pretty important. I'm only sort of a geek though, kind of a hipster jock geek maybe?

I moved to Pittsburgh from Boston almost a year ago now, after living and working there for eight years - mostly because the rent was too damn high. In between, I hiked a little over half the Appalachian Trail. It was really hard, sometimes awful, and easily the best thing ever.

I don't talk too loud, I like to learn about everything, and I can never seem to remember where I put my anything or what day it is.

I love to get outside, and I like woodworking. I try to not drive if I can avoid it, I don't actually own a car and never have (but might need to soon).

I consider myself a feminist ally, and I like strong women as friends and dating partners.

Btw, 5'6" is actually how tall I am, none of that standard 2-inch bump. Oh I guess I'm more honest than not, too.
What I’m doing with my life
Deconstructing the capitalist patriarchy. Damn the man, down with the system.
I’m really good at
Hiking, cooking, fixing stuff. Pretty universally good with my hands. Almost impeccable grammar... some fragments but those are there for affect (sometimes effect).
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes, turns out. People say I have nice crow's feet when I smile.

Here I was thinking it was the beard... my beard is fierce though, man.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a lot of nonfiction books, and older literature when I can. Recently have been reading Patrick Rothfuss on the recommendation of a friend, really good stuff.

I can get into a scifi or fantasy series pretty thoroughly (GoT and BSG, oh man the binges), but mostly I'm not that into TV. Commercials bother me. I probably have not seen whatever reality show the kids are talking about.

Music right now - Super hooked on First Aid Kit.

I like cooking, I like eating, and I'm good at both. Cilantro and beets are both anathema to me, but anything else goes.
The six things I could never do without
I dunno man. You can do without a lot. Ask John Lennon. I go a little stir crazy if I don't exercise though.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What kind of dog I want to get, quietly planning my tiny* house.

*more like a small house
On a typical Friday night I am
Potlucks, parties, bars, maybe on a date? I don't really know. Sometimes I go grocery shopping and go to bed early.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
One time when i was six I walked out the front door of my house in my tighty whiteys, entirely by accident. I was mortified, not necessarily aware of what you can get away with when you're six.
You should message me if
You'd like to.
More