48Pittsburgh, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm an eclectic intellectual who has quite varied tastes and somewhat incongruent interests. My passions range from Roman culture and rhetoric to science fiction, goth/industrial dance clubs and Eastern thought. I have been a computer geek since before there were PCs, and although I used to log about 40 hours a week on RPGs (think AD&D, Dragonquest, Runequest, Aftermath, Villains and Vigilantes, Stormbringer...) I'm now more likely to be found dancing or catching a film than hanging around the gaming table. I have been an amateur chemist (thought the feds weren't too happy about that) and my life stories are (and have been) enough to fill a book (unpublished). My personaility type is the INTJ (also known as the mastermind).

I'm deeply committed to life extension and fitness and I regularly practice yoga and lift weights. I'm about 1-2 years from my PhD at Carnegie Mellon. I love to cook for myself and other people (being especially good at Italian, Mexican, and Indian cuisines). I am very well schooled in nutritional and herbal supplementation, and I take a variety of things for cognition enhancement, muscle building, and longevity. I am into aromatherapy and plan to try my hand at soapmaking soon.

I am arrogant, genius, and liberal

What I’m doing with my life
*Still* getting educated... I study memory, forgetting and practice. I look at life as an adventure, but an adventure to be taken seriously on a variety of levels. While I like to have fun for part of my days, I also like working on things with social value. In my case, I am very interested in the applications of my research to improving education for both adults and children. I am currently looking for a postdoctoral position where I can continue to explore applications of my research to education
I’m really good at
I'm really good at a lot of things... I guess learning would be my forte. I can self-teach myself about anything. I am likely like this because both of my parents are professors (English and Chemistry) and this sort of exposure as a child has led to my deep respect and love for learning.

I am also very domestic. I have subscriptions to Food and Wine and Martha Stewart Living. Last night I made a really yummy Persian dish (saffron chicken with sour cherries in a pilaf) for example. I tend to be a tidy and clean person. I have tried my hand at ceramics and macrame and in general tend to be a crafty person.

I play a pretty darn good game of Bridge (though I may be a little rusty on conventions) and I also love hearts ;)

The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and tight t-shirts. That I look about 27. Maybe I should say here that I have a somewhat femme personaility. While I am very intense at times I think that I am more like a dominant woman than a dominant male. I have had lesbians suspect I was a lesbian. I tend to prefer women who are bi or gay, and they tend to like me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
(a) Robert Jordan, Iain Banks, Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, Piers Anthony, Heinlein, Asimov, Clarke, Moorcock, Philip K Dick, Zelazny, Anne McCaffery, Marion Zimmner Bradley, Robert Silverberg, Jack Vance. While I am focusing on the literature of my field right now, I spent my time in prison (see below) reading a variety of less "fun" classic works, i.e. authors like Camus, Rand, Russell, Ovid, Virgil, Robert Pirsig, Edith Hamilton, Csikszentmihalyi, Kafka. Of course this is just the tip of the iceberg.

(b) Return of the King, Aliens, Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas -- Also TV - Battlestar Galactica, Stargate (both shows), Farscape, Babylon 5, Andromeda, Enterprise, Monk, and the Daily Show

(c) Stromkern, Informatik, Seabound, VNV Nation, Apoptgyma Berzerk, PJ Harvey, Throwing Muses, Rasputina, this list goes on and on. I tend to like 80's, gothic, industrial, and chick rock...

(d) Thai, Sushi, Ethiopean, Lebanese, Chinese, Korean, Vegetarian, Indian and Mexican

Six things I could never do without
Computers, Sex, Music, Dancing, Chemicals, and Indian food (Possibly not in that order.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Memory. I tend to think about it in terms of mathematical equations that describe the rate of forgetting, the effect of study, or chance of retrieval. I'm the sort of person that can sit and think for an hour or two about a system of equations without doing much else.

I have also spent a large amount of time thinking about spirituality over the past dozen years. To me, notions of gods and saints (be they pagan or Jeudeo/Christian) are an indication of minor psychological pathology. Similar to a belief in luck or aliens. Of course, I'm not saying that these things do not exist, I'm simply saying that the evidence is not compelling and therefore only irrational motives would compel faith in these things.

Despite this, I believe in many of the teachings of yoga and buddhism, particularly the notion that attachment causes suffering directly. I meditate to reduce my desire when I find the time and willpower. I tend to be extremely passionate, so this is necessary at times. Philosophically I am an existentialist and a stoic.

On a typical Friday night I am
Any number of things possibly involving science-fiction, socializing or the like. I am an introvert, which means that if I want to spend time with you I must really like you. I'm perfectly happy sitting home and setting up spreadsheets of my data if nothing is going on.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I did 6 years in low-security prison for a non-violent drug felony (making my own speed as an undergrad). I'm not proud of this, but I consider it to be similar to what tabacco companies do legally. I am never dishonset and I never sold to children.

Prison was nice because it was safer and people were friendlier and more respectful than in high school. I had a lot of free time for personal development in a variety of areas.

You should message me if
You are an alternative person. I like alternative people, but get quickly bored with normals. On the other hand, I am also looking for people with stable personalities who know what they want. Often these things do not correspond.

I tend to like literary and arty people despite the fact that I am a scientist. I am a big believer in the idea of the renaissance person and I tend to find that our culture creates rather shallow people.

You don't mind (or like) the fact that I am polyamorous (my gf is Cynic2022).

Finally,I think that people are missing the point with my profile. I'm not on this site because I'm looking to get laid (though that is just fine if it happens). I'm here because I believe that relying on propinquity for mate selection is a dubious proposition at best.

I should point out I took the OK cupid test 3 times... with only slight variations in my answers and got a) the backrubber b) the 5 night stander, and c) the gentleman...

This indicates a) the test is not that great and b) I'm probably somewhere in between those 3 types. Backrubber is closest to the middle, and probably closer to my personality.

The two of us