30 Aurora, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Mike and I moved out to Aurora to work at Buckley AFB working as an architectural project manager just over a year ago. I used to live in the DC area for a little over two years and worked as a civilian over at Andrews Air Force Base. I'm originally from Memphis, TN, but I studied architecture at the University of Cincinnati. I'm a big Bearcats fan and love Steelers football. In college I was, and still consider myself, a fraternity man. I know the negative stereotypes that come with admitting that fact, but I am a gentleman first and a fraternity man second. My fraternity is Sigma Phi Epsilon.

I am an Air Force brat, so I've lived in Nebraska, England, Florida, and Tennessee before heading off to college in Ohio. I have a huge deal of respect for the men and women in the armed services.

I decided to study architecture because I felt that it had a good blend of the sciences, like math and physics, and art. I've always been into drawing and going into architecture helped me develop my drawing skills as well as improve my designing skills. My favorite designers have to be Frank Lloyd Wright (of course, right?) for his use and development of space and the interaction between different spaces, and Renzo Piano for the way he tries to always incorporate natural light into his projects.

I am eventually looking to get my Masters in Architecture in hopes of getting my architecture license. Other things I'd like to eventually do are, finally put my scuba diving license to good use, learn how to ride a motorcycle, get my pilot's license, join a rugby team, travel back to my old home in Red Lodge, England, and eventually take a full tour of Europe.
What I’m doing with my life
I currently work for the government as an architectural project manager and am working on becoming a licensed architect.
I’m really good at
I've been really good at sports and drawing throughout my life. I used to wrestle, play lacrosse and football in high school and I was on the club wrestling and lacrosse teams in college. I'm looking to get into rugby for a hobby and maybe for some competition. I took art classes all throughout school, from kindergarten through college. When I lived there, I enjoyed going around the DC area and sketching the different monuments, memorials, and buildings around town. I'm hoping to be able to walk around downtown Denver and the various places around here to see what the city has to offer as well. I hear Red Rocks is pretty nice.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile and how I always try to find the silver lining.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books... Does a Lego Architecture book count? I mean, there were more words than pictures, so technically I did 'read' the book. Most of my reading comes from trade magazines or different articles on architecture. Reading code books, materials specs, and data sheets all day ruins the drive to read anything else.

Movies are a different story. Favorite movies are Top Gun, Alien, Aliens, Predator, and Gladiator. I love sci-fi/fantasy movies, but I do enjoy a lot of the movies that I end up watching. Also, the Pixar flicks are on the top of my list as well, Wall-e and Up are pretty awesome movies. I've been watching the Living Dead movies, watching 'The Walking Dead' series on AMC.

Music I listen to consists of pretty much what's on the radio. My ipod has more space dedicated to movies than music.

Food I love... most dead animals. I love sushi, mostly ngiri and sashimi style, not a big fan of the rolls. They seem to be to elaborate where as all I usually want is the fish. Obviously the usuals like Italian, Greek, Chinese, and Mexican are on the list. I'm a big advocate of trying new and different kinds of beer, but will usually go with a pint of Guiness if they have it on tap.
The six things I could never do without
In no particular order...

1. My family back in Memphis.
2. My computer, it has my whole life on it.
3. Netflix, it's good for those boring weeknights when nothing is on tv.
4. Skyline Chili (it's a Cincinnati thing) which can be found in King Soopers apparently.
5. Corky's BBQ (it's a Memphis thing)
6. Going to the gym.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I'm going to do on the weekends.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm usually heading down to Blake Street or hanging out up in the Highlands area with buddies that moved out to Colorado a few months before I did. It's nice having people in town that I already knew before moving out to Denver.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm terrified of spiders. I can thank the move Arachnophobia for giving me arachnophobia.
You should message me if
You're looking for someone who is down to earth or you just enjoy going to watch movies at the theater.