MikeCann11
30 Emeryville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MikeCann11
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a seeker of 29 years, attempting to find friends and partners to join me on the path of discovery.

I have lived in Michigan, DC, and a couple of different places in California, but have loved my past couple of years living the Bay Area.

While passionate about politics and current events, I also have a rather nerdy side that I love to nourish.
What I’m doing with my life
I've always been interested politics, government, and public policy, all things I know get to work with professionally. I work for non-profit that conducts political research and data analysis.

I love my job, but am considering grad school or law school within the next year or two.

I have been living in the Bay Area the last couple of years and am enjoying exploring all the joys it has to offer.

When not working, I enjoy hiking, back-packing, film, photography, reading, and exploring new pockets of the Bay Area on foot or by bike.
I’m really good at
Listening, passionate discussion, respectful debate, cuddling, massage, and I have a great sense of direction.
The first things people usually notice about me
Often something about my good energy or vibes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Time Enough for Love by Robert A. Heinlein, Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke, The Watchmen by Alan Moore, Catch 22 by Joseph Heller, The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

Movies: Too many to really list, but my tastes are generally range from smaller, random art house flicks to the latest summer blockbuster. I love movies, but more importantly I love sharing movies with others. After a movie (even a bad movie), I enjoying discussing and debating it, how well was the narrative constructed? What is the film saying (deliberately or not) about society? Did it pass the Bechdel test? Did the film do what it was intending to do?

Shows: Doctor Who, ST: TNG, The Wire, The Simpsons (the classics, seasons 3-9), Game of Thrones, Breaking Bad, Community, Real Time w/ Bill Maher.

Music: Todd Snider, Sallie Ford & The Sound Outside, Paul Simon, Marina & The Diamonds, Girl Talk, The Coup.

Food: Olives, sushi, truffle fries, fresh sourdough bread, goat cheese, homemade stir-fry dishes, and burritos from that place near my office.

Podcasts (this should be added): Savage Lovecast, WTF, Slate Political Gabfest, SModcast, Slate's Spoiler Specials
The six things I could never do without
Coffee
Massage (giving and receiving)
Variety
Laughter
Conversation that is simultaneously intelligent, kind, and hilarious
Redwood trees (I don't need to live in or near them, I just need to know they exist)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The relationships we all share with each other, as friends, neighbors, lovers, community members, and those perceived as strangers. I like to think about how we took these relationships and made communities and societies out of them. I want to examine the systems we have made as a people and learn from them.
On a typical Friday night I am
Often trying to pull myself away from work, but then dinner/drinks with friends or a trip the theater (stage or film). I'm also pretty fond of dancing away the stresses of the week on Friday nights.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can invest too much of my self-worth in the opinion of others and it is something I am working on.
You should message me if
You are a compassionate, caring, intelligent person who is seeking the same.

Random Keywords: Liberal, political science, queer, gender, kinky, bdsm, photography, backpacking, hiking, film criticism, board games.
More