60Alexandria, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m an introspective but gregarious late bloomer, never did look or act my age. I’m the oldest of 7 kids from a normal, dysfunctional, happy family. I love spending time with my family and friends, but I also need time to spend on my obsessions: music, dance, and learning. I’m a foodie and love to cook – I’ve taken culinary classes. My TV viewing is limited - the Daily Show, Doc Martin and Real Time. I like TED podcasts. I exercise as often as I need to feel good – I recently bought a bike. I love to travel; meeting and spending time with new people in new places is a hoot. I am very comfortable being around people who don’t look like or think like me. I’m non-judgmental, people trust me quickly and tell me everything! I am an eternal optimist, and except for dark, cold winter days, I am usually a pretty happy person. My family lived in Hawaii during my elementary school years. The smells, sights, feels and sounds of paradise are forever etched in my mind and are still a source of comfort for me. The grandiosity and beauty of nature puts me totally in awe, and sometimes there’s just too much to absorb.

I like my home to be comfortable and filled with things I like to look at and listen to. Art, dance and music capture my soul. Etta James, Sarah Vaughan and Cannonball Adderley are like comfort food. But all music is worth a listen.

And speaking of comfort food, Thai and Maryland eastern shore style seafood are at the top of my list. But anything that tickles my tongue is a turn-on. I lived in San Francisco for a year and was surrounded by foodies, mixologists and sommeliers. I spent three months in New Orleans with an expense account. I’m fascinated by the ritual of it all and totally enjoy good food and drink.

I’m a lifelong learner – always gravitating towards things I’m afraid of, don’t know or can’t do yet. I’m a dancer: ballroom, Salsa and other nightclub Latin dances, and Disco. I taught part time at Arthur Murray’s for a few years, and other venues after that. I’ve been studying guitar, only 9,000 hours to go. I recently joined Alexandria Singers and found a great voice coach. Wonder where this will take me? I like to read; I’m a sponge for knowledge - advances in health, neuropsychology, genetics and diet - amazing stuff.

What I’m looking for:

Aside from wanting to find someone who can put up with my silly butt for the next 40 years (always optimistic), I’d like someone who has the ability and desire to create a relationship that’s going to be good for both of us; best friends, best lovers, understanding and supporting the things that we both need to be content with and excited about life. I like curious, positive, friendly people; people who give other people the benefit of the doubt. I like honest, assertive women who don’t mind taking charge for the things that they are good at, I really don’t need or want to dominate anyone. The honesty part is really important to me; no secrets. For me, after a reasonable period of time of getting to know and trust each other, secrets are a deal breaker. I can’t let my problems or relationship problems go unresolved for very long. I work hard at understanding and working through issues that cause me pain in life. There aren’t many things that I’m too embarrassed to talk about. I’m a very kind, patient, nonjudgmental person, and I want a partner of the same ilk. I’m a yapper (like to talk), and I’m very interested in people, I go deep quickly. And there are times when I need to reflect and figure out how I feel about things. Hope you’re OK with that.
What I’m doing with my life
My priorities have changed over the past few years. I've started a process of cleaning out what doesn’t fit anymore, both physically and mentally. The job is good; my artsy passions have run their course for a while. I’ve been very happy with myself for a few years now. The one thing that I think about everyday that isn’t there yet is someone special to share the simple pleasures that life has to offer – someone to smell the roses with. The day-to-day routine just doesn’t seem so routine when you wake with your best friend in your arms.
I’m really good at
Creating a good time in social situations, I like to play with people and am very good at making people feel comfortable. I am also a good teacher and mentor, at work and in my non-work areas of expertise. I’m a very patient person, very intuitive and a good communicator.
The first things people usually notice about me
I like to play with people. I'm the oldest male of 7 kids, and we
tease, joke and banter. Not malicious, but sometimes it appears a
little rough for people who have led sheltered lives.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Most of my reading these days in Internet based, it's so easy to research topics of interest without books! But I do Kindle.

My food tastes are eclectic; I lived in San Francisco for a year, New Orleans for three months, I know how to eat and I like it spicy! My dad was a native of Brooklyn NY and was an expert in searching out little dives that offered the best in culinary delights. I think it must be genetic.

I've been a musician in some way since high school. I was a Jazz major in college. For me, dancing is all about the music. I love music.
Six things I could never do without
My tongue – how else could I taste?
My ears – how else could I hear?
My eyes – how else could I see?
My fingers – how else could I touch?
Margaritas, chips and salsa

That’s seven, never was good at math.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Everything! The conversation in my head is always analyzing the world’s problems, or thinking about a new playlist for my iPod, or remembering how the water tastes and smells at Waikiki. And then I sleep.
On a typical Friday night I am
For a while now Friday nights have been spent at home decompressing. I think a lot in both my career and in my after work passions. After 5 or 6 days I just don’t want to pay attention to anything! I haven’t dated in a while, but I can imagine looking forward to spending quality time on Friday nights with someone I really want to be with.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
The Martians planted me here.
You should message me if
All of this writing doesn’t say a thing about how we’ll connect, that requires a meeting!
The two of us