32Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been telling myself I should rewrite this, so consider this in flux. 130506

I'm poly and I'm happy to meet new people, but am starting to have thoughts about babies, property, and picket fences. And backbacking around Europe and driving or biking across the US. I feel a bit late to that game.

If you get to know me, you'll probably end up knowing underwatercolor pretty well, too. We used to live together and still have a lot of shared brains.

I graduated from RPI in 2007 with an EMAC (Electronic Media, Arts, and Communication) degree. Since then I've owned a couple of cars, worked a couple of jobs in technical support, and moved around a few times in the Medford/Somerville area. I bike to work most of the time. I enjoy living in New England, and growing plants makes me happy.

I've enjoyed participating in and attending a variety of local events/groups like Somerville Open Studios, Figment, Porchfest, the Arisia Science Fiction Convention, Firefly Arts Collective.

I really like having short hair - cutting it is a pretty reliable way to make me feel better about myself. I'd also recommend that everyone shave their heads at least once - it's a worthwhile sensory experience. My hair length tends to go from short to long and back again every 4 years.

Being on tall buildings and tree branches and mountaintops pleases me.

I am a very quiet person - I'm often likely to enjoy watching two people converse just as much as I would enjoy talking to one or both of them. If someone's really good at actively involving me in conversation, I'll probably have some neat things to say. I tend to shy away from loud people, but not necessarily talkative people.

Touch is very important to me as a means of communication or reassurance. I tend to enjoy exchanging massages and scritches when I am in a comfortable space with comfortable people.

I am curious, quiet, and artistic.
What I’m doing with my life
Learning new things, enjoying my time alone and with friends. Still trying to read books, failing sometimes.
I live near Ball Square, and am working IT at a local college.

I have a lot of respect for people who are keeping it together, making it all work, and still sticking to their principles/ideals/beliefs.
I’m really good at
I'm a fair artist, at times. I like to trade massages - touch is often an important part of the way I communicate.

I listen, and I am nice, and I am patient. I am honored when people decide I am trustworthy, and I try to keep up my end of the bargain.
The first things people usually notice about me
Dunno! Hang on and I'll go ask people! *wanders off*
So, apparently at least three people think I have a nice smile.

At least one person noticed I was kissing a girl when he met me.
At least one person thinks I look (impossibly!) kissable.
At least one person has met me by getting a massage from me, and at least one person thinks of massages when they think of me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
(a) Anything by Douglas Adams, Margaret Atwood (at least her near-future dystopias), Emma Bull, Cory Doctorow, Neil Gaiman, Robin Hobb, Robin McKinley, Pat Murphy, John Varley, Dan Simmons, Neal Stephenson, Vernor Vinge, Charles Stross, John Scalzi, HPMoR aka Harry Potter and the Methods of Rationality, Sheri S. Tepper, Ursula K. Le Guin, Octavia Butler, Connie Willis, .

(b/c) Mirrormask, Waking Life and A Scanner Darkly. Moon, Primer, Home (2009 film), The Fall. The movie called Stay is wonderful and strange. I am also a fan of Star Wars and Back to the Future. And the Pirates movies, and Shrek. Star Trek, Doctor Who, Firefly, and House.

(d) Enya, Dresden Dolls, Bare Naked Ladies, Counting Crows, Enigma, Deep Forest, R.E.M., Anggun, Dispatch, Joni Mitchell, various filk music, Live. Neil Young, Something Corporate, Our Lady Peace, Pink Floyd. Beats Antique, Boards of Canada, The Glitch Mob, the xx, Sufjan Stevens, Atl-J

(e) I like sushi, especially mackerel and eel. I like squid if it's good. I also like Thai, especially coconut soup, and sweet things and sour things. Thai Iced Tea, fried ice cream. I have a lower tolerance for salty things than some people do. I want to continue to try new and exciting foods.
Six things I could never do without
Springtime, stories, friends and lovers, at least one place to call home, notebooks and pens, fire.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Love. My future. Comics (web, graphic novels, etc). Whatever book I'm reading at the time. My friends and relationships.

The speed and effectiveness with which people can communicate online, how it shapes how we think and understand, the Internet hivemind, potential versions of the Singularity.
On a typical Friday night I am
Being social, hopefully. Maybe doing art or attending or hosting a party. Spending time with excellent people.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It probably depends. Ask me and find out?
You should message me if
You can type legibly and have something interesting to say or ask. It can be really hard to get me to talk on OkC's IM - I usually try to have it turned off. Send me mail through OkC instead.
The two of us