50 Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I really like being, except when I don't. My self-perception, my worldview, my ideology - each are complex and mutable (to an extent). I like to be properly comfortable if I'm getting ready to push my boundaries. Giving respect gets respect. I like visitors, but not always the unexpected ones. I truly and deeply appreciate artists of all kinds, even if I don't particularly enjoy or appreciate certain styles of art. Many (if not most) of my friends are artists, musicians, and creators in various mediums. I really want to build a one-off custom pedalcar. I may actually do it someday. I've done other projects like it, and I have done some welding.
What I’m doing with my life
I've been going to Burningman the last 14 years, have volunteered, helped build weird bike art, etc. I'm getting back into welding (not pro by any means), and enjoy woodwork as well. I've been described as a super de-clutter-er as I like open space and organized materials. I have been a packrat (not so much, anymore), so I'm not a neatfreak, but I like being able to do whatever I'm trying to do as soon as I realize I want to do it. Some of what I'm doing is waiting for the weather to get better so I can do more to the garage so I can do more projects (a lotta yak shaving)
I’m really good at
I'm a professional cook (not chef), Americana mostly- if I can find a recipe for it, I can make most anything. I own a couple dozen cookbooks. I also can organize physical objects to maximize space utilization like nobody I know. I'm really good with my hands- not so much the big brutish tasks, but a little more with the finesse. If you like massage with a gentle touch, I'm your man- if you need someone who can part the seas with his fingertips- not so much. I can figure out how most things work- especially mechanically. I'm good with kids (I come from a large family with some issues, and have worked with troubled and at-risk youth). I'm great with animals and love every kind (there are notable exceptions to what I'm willing to actually "hang out" with), and have spent time caretaking horses, goats and sheep as well as having had numerous cats, a few dogs, and some lizards. I'd really like to have a fishtank next. Oh, and I garden. I'm a good listener when I'm calm. Yes, it does happen.
The first things people usually notice about me
My tattoos. I'm fully sleeved, but also a work in progress. Upon closer examination, the true nature of my tats are revealed. I have no words, no human images anywhere on my body. Many of my tattooists have gone on to become famous and/or charge a lot more now.
My mood. I cannot hide my emotions, at least not entirely. It leads me to stay true to my honesty- sometimes brutally honest, but that's been tempered with age. I'm very empathic and can tell how the crowd I'm in is feeling.
And thusly- whether or not I like someone or am simply tolerating them can be extremely apparent (often moreso to an outside observer).
So if you get this itchy feeling you really should leave, make your excuses and go- and if, conversely, you get the feeling I might be flirting, I'm trying to flirt discreetly. And if you're really unsure- it probably means that I, too, am unsure. If I'm unsure, then go ahead and be my friend, it'll do both of us more good than harm.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Along with my cookbooks, I have a small tattoo book collection. I also occasionally enjoy reading science fiction, science fact, science experiments, how to guides (building stuff) and repair manuals. Movies-Fight Club, Boondock Saints, Clerks, Waiting, Snatch, Spun, Donnie Darko, Go, Clubbed, Hurt Locker-the list goes on- I Netflix a lot. TV-Walking Dead, Sons of Anarchy, Terra Nova, NCIS, Burn Notice, Supernatural, The Finder, South Park, Daily Show- I hulu too. Music-I can't even start to list all the stuff I listen to (categories include electronica, alt rock, indie pop, industrial, 80's new wave and more) but I love hearing new bands, and support KEXP. Food- I love the chicken tacos at Rancho Bravo, I do an awesome asian saute' thing, chicken pot pie, lasagna (red sauce from scratch), I'm often found making pizza as well. I really need to practice my pie skills (as in fruit pie, not pizza pie) and bread skills.
The six things I could never do without
My friends, my comfy bed, my iPhone, a good set of tools, a decent working computer, and 23 rubber ducks.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
All the things going on in the universe that we can't possibly be aware of. Is our galaxy really driven by a black hole? What am I going to try to build for Burningman this year? What am I going to wear at Burningman? Am I even going? Where am I going? Where are WE going? How soon till I can travel some more? What's for lunch? What's behind door # 3? Will I ever get my housemates to clean up their junk? Ow. Reality just set in.
On a typical Friday night I am
Gaming, watching movies, and listening to music. Preferably all at the same time. Unless I get the chance to go see some live music with a friend (of any kind).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Is that I won't talk about it in public.
You should message me if
You're bored but not boring, or boorish. You're liberal (left to way left is good, but we don't have to talk politics. You like taking neighborhood walks at 3 am (it's so quiet). Any of the above, and 19 others are great reasons to contact me. You should not contact me if we're less than 90% match or more than 20% enemy.