32San Mateo, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Moved to the Peninsula in June 2011 to help a disabled friend. Originally from the East Bay. Spent 26 years there and most of who and what I know is on that side of the water. Been trying to explore this side little by little since then. Pretty convenient that I live within walking distance of downtown. Lots of restaurants and shops to check out. There's some overlap, too. You would not believe how many picture framing places there are here.

I enjoy experimenting with food, but I've only got one recipe that I can actually call my own. I like card games, but not ones played with a typical bicycle deck. I'm talking about lesser-known ones like Chrononauts. I'm not afraid of going to the movies or standup comedy shows alone, but it's much more fun when there's someone with me.
What I’m doing with my life
Started going to the gym and using a calorie counter app. At the time of this update, I've lost 75 pounds and counting. I am no longer just a shapeless blob. Now I'm a bony shapeless blob. Besides that, I'm working on some creative writing projects. Short stories, a webcomic, and a movie script. Not that I expect the script to actually be produced. I just need to get it out of my head and onto paper. Similarly, I need to learn how to draw - preferably digitally - before the comic comes to fruition.

Career-wise, I'm looking for a different job. Something more fulfilling than selling expensive bathtubs to rich people. Or at least something that utilizes my degree. Also need to figure out whether I should use my vacation time or just liquidate it.

Due to personal reasons, I started growing my hair out for Locks of Love in late 2015. It's still in that awkward phase where it's too short to do anything with but long enough to block my vision. But what the hey, it's charity.

Aside from that, I've been enjoying a midlife crisis by getting into body modifications. I've been collecting them since May 2015. They include a half-sleeve tattoo, a smaller band tattoo, and three piercings. The half sleeve is heavily inspired by a Polish artist whose last name is similar to Beksinski but with all kinds of funky marks over all the letters and the space surrounding his name.
I’m really good at
Cards Against Humanity

Adapting to different situations with people in positions of authority with different personalities (really helped me get through college). I also have a lot of useless trivia stored away.

Besides that, I have a bad case of beginner's luck. I often do things right or win games the first time I try them but screw up royally afterward. Perfect example: I successfully tied a knot in a cherry stem with my tongue the first time I tried it. I have yet been able to do it again.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. Nearly everyone I meet is at least a few inches shorter than me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything by Stephen King, manga in general, books exposing corruption and wrong-doing, classic sci-fi, and fiction with a lot of wordplay. My favorite childhood book is The Phantom Tollbooth.

Movies: Millennium Actress. That one actually made me tear up. The first time I cried because of a movie was when I was 4. I think it was a horror movie because of all the blood. But this one was just really emotional and well made. Comedies and horror are my two favorite genres, but I watch others, as well. The Grand Budapest Hotel is the most brilliantly written comedy I have ever seen. Amazon recommends foreign films for me that are usually pretty enjoyable.

Shows: Adult Swim, Supernatural, Arrow, and whatever's in my Netflix queue. Also have a soft spot for British comedies. Red Dwarf tops that list. Blackadder, Father Ted, and others follow close behind.

Music: Pretty much an amalgamation. Gorillaz, Daft Punk, Crash Test Dummies, Weird Al, Pink, Tom Waits. I don't enjoy gangsta rap, country, or anything where the band is screaming, though. But aside from those three, I'll listen to virtually anything. My rule of thumb is as long as the lyrics are sung clearly, it's at least decent.

Food: Burritos, although I love most Mexican food. Italian, too. If you want to know why I learned Italian recipes, I did it all for the gnocchi. Besides those, I pretty much cook whatever I get a craving for. Beef stroganoff and Texas red chili are two consistently tasty dishes I've made in the past. I've also been branching out more into seafood, but invertebrates are just something I can't bring myself to eat. Or organ meat.
Six things I could never do without
Friends, a decent bed, I guess that's about it. There's other stuff that I'd really rather not do without, but there's not much I actually need. Cuddling would have to be at the top of the stuff I wouldn't want to live without.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What the future holds for me professionally and romantically. Also what I want to do in my spare time.
On a typical Friday night I am
At the gym. It's a MWF schedule, but I'm flexible about that. If I miss one of those, I can make it up on the weekend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a big freckle on the bottom of my foot. Oh, the shame!

Jim Belushi groped me.

I'm clumsy to the point of people applauding me for it. I once cut my leg with a chair and needed stitches for it. I later cut the same leg with a desk, although that one wasn't as deep.

I have double-jointed thumbs.

A friend once suggested I dress as Bartleby the Scrivener for Halloween, but I would prefer not to.

I have a FetLife account.
You should message me if
You know why a raven is like a writing desk.

You have a smoker or grill (preferably charcoal) you'd let me use in exchange for free food.

If you've experienced something Kafkaesque, we have so much to talk about.

Just be warned that leaving a message that only says "Hey" or "How are you?" is a sure way to be ignored.
The two of us