34 Phenix City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Personal Summary: I am very open-minded and accepting of others. While I do have certain expectations, I am flexible. However, I am not like a leaf blowing in the wind with no goals or direction in life. For the most part, I know what I want to do with my life. The mystery dwells within the details.

Summary of my military service: After completing four years of active duty service from May 2002 to May 2006, I left the regular army to join the national guard where I served from May 2006 until May 2012. While on active duty, I deployed to Kuwait in 2003, and Iraq in 2005. My last deployment was with the national guard. My unit went to Afghanistan from August 2010 until August 2011.

Summary of intent: I am on OkCupid to meet new people and see where that goes. I am open to new friendships or a relationship. In addition, I seek an activity partner who likes to try new things whether that be traveling on weekends or something more thrill-seeking such as skydiving, which I have never done. I do wish I had gone airborne while in the service. Maybe it is a good thing I did not because I would likely have knee problems now. More specifically, I would like someone in my life to spice and shake things up. I turned 30 in May, and I promised myself then that I would take a more active role in truly living life. Now I plan to live according to the Latin phrase Carpe Diem.
What I’m doing with my life
I plan to go to graduate school for a master’s degree in history with either a concentration in public history or museum studies.

In addition, I continue to look for ways to improve my Spanish. Eventually, I would like to learn other languages as well. French, Portuguese, and German are high on my list of possibilities.
I’m really good at
1. Research
2. Active Listening
3. Organization
4. Social sciences
5. Writing
The first things people usually notice about me
People tend to notice that I am very formal and business-like. Moreover, they notice my professionalism and my somewhat reserved demeanor. Despite the aforementioned characteristics, people do not have a problem approaching me for information. I do my best to treat others the way I would like to be treated myself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I like books by J. R. R. Tolkien, Terry Goodkind, J. K. Rowling, Dan Brown, Stephen King, and Dean Koontz.

Movies: My favorite movies are The Lord of the Rings, The Matrix, The Chronicles of Riddick, The Expendables, Harry Potter, The Da Vinci Code, Angels and Demons, Resident Evil, and The Transporter.

Shows: I like the shows Criminal Minds, Chicago Fire, Monday Mornings, Game of Thrones, Banshee, Grimm, The Walking Dead, Defiance, and Da Vinci's Demons. In addition, I enjoy watching Face Off.

Music: My music preferences are extremely eclectic, but I mostly listen to alternative, hard rock, and metal.

Food: It is important to note here that I am not a vegetarian, but I like fruits and vegetables well enough to consider becoming a vegetarian if it causes conflict within a relationship. With this being said, I love good country cooking. I also like Italian, Mexican, Chinese, and Thai food, and I am very interested in trying new things.
The six things I could never do without
1. My family
2. Nature
3. My truck
4. Good company
5. Books or my Nook/Good entertainment
I spend a lot of time thinking about
1. Graduate school
2. Public history
3. Spanish
4. Art
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading a book, watching a movie, surfing the web, or having a philosophical conversation
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I spend too much time thinking about things I cannot change.
You should message me if
You should message me if you want a good conversation, desire my friendship, or are interested in pursuing a relationship with me.