69Stockton Springs, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Are you looking for me? If so, don't look on the couch because I'm not there. I have far too much energy and curiousity about everything to be sitting around doing - essentially - nothing. I find nearly everything in life to be interesting. I'll often stop and look at something and ask, "How did they DO that?", or "WHY did they do that?, or often a not, "How does THAT work??" And then I'll have to try to figure it out. If I find I can't figure it out by myself, well, that's why Al Gore invented the internet! :-)

I'm retired after 40+ years in the manufacturing industry. I have an ongoing interest in volunteering, hiking, travel, and sports and during my life I've found ways to merge two or more of those together. I guess you could say I'm "creative" that way! :-)

I'm also a down-to-earth guy who doesn't need a 5-star restaurant or hotel to be happy but I prefer something nicer than McD's and a two-person tent. I've done the tent thing in the past and I would again, but it wouldn't break my heart if I didn't :-) .

Here's what I'm looking for:
I'm looking for someone who has similar interests, but at the same time interests of her own too. I consider myself a life-long learner who wants to learn and experience new things.
I'm looking for an equal partner with enough common interests to form the basis of a great relationship.

I'm also not looking for a female couch potato. I'm looking for someone who wants to get out and DO things! Someone who strikes a balance between work and play and who believes that while home is nice and very worth having, there are lots of things to explore in the outside world too.

I'm looking for someone who believes that love, romance and passion aren't dependent on one's age, someone who believes that the numbers on one's driver's license has little to do with who that person is.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm enjoying not being employed and the time commitment it involved. I stay busy with my family (who live nearby), and maintaining my home. I do some hiking, mostly in ANP, and I also am involved with local HS sports, announcing games during the school year.

I enjoy concerts, trips to the city (especially Boston. Want to walk the Freedom Trail with me?) and I'm a staunch Red Sox fan who finds a way to get to Florida every March for a vacation in SW Florida and Ft Myers. Sun, beaches and baseball make for a great vacation!

I'm admittedly more of a summertime person than a wintertime person. I have a Jeep that the top comes off of in the summer and one of my favorite things to do is to pick a destination, drive to it, and then do whatever's there. I've been told that I "really know how to have a good time."
I’m really good at
How can I answer this without getting a sore shoulder from patting myself on the back? Here goes: I'm pretty darn good at anything I take on. I'm motivated to do a good job at whatever it is, but not so motivated that I'm obsessed by it.
I'm also really good at looking at both sides of an issue before making any decisions. A good match for me is someone who can make solid 'snap' decisions - and then we talk the issue through to make the BEST decision. I believe that there's always room to talk and that no person is either always right or always wrong.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm a good person. I have a friendly, honest, outgoing nature, upbeat personality, and I make people feel comfortable around me. And I have no idea why - it's just me being me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - The DaVinci Code & Angels and Demons are my two most recent reads. I love reading but don't read as much as I like because there are too many "active" things to be doing!
My favorite movies are The Shoes of the Fisherman, a very old movie about the electing of the Pope, The Usual Suspects, Phone Booth, and Pulp Fiction.
Shows.. what's this? TV? Yes, I watch a little more of it than I probably should, everything from Nat Geo to History to the major networks to "Family Guy". (Everyone has their secret vices. LOL)
My favorite Broadway show is "Fiddler on the Roof" followed by"Chicago".
Music - You name it, other than opera and rap. Favorite artist (right now) is Delbert McClinton.
Food - nearly anything that's not tied down and I don't have to fix!
Six things I could never do without
In no particular order, the love of my family, my dignity and self-respect, challenges in my life, a loving, meaningful relationship, a good pair of hiking boots, access to current events and information. #7 would be the Red Sox.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Ugh. that ugly "sore shoulder" thing is rearing it's head again...
:-) ...why a guy with as many good qualities as I have doesn't have a steady gal in his life! (Self-assessment is good for the soul.)
On a typical Friday night I am
There is no typical Friday night for me. I may be out with friends, I may be at home watching tv, or I may be with my children/grandchildren. I take life - and opportunities - as it comes.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't usually admit private things on line but this might become pretty obvious sooner or later; I'm "follically challenged". :-( Not like a cue-ball or anything, but things are pretty sparse on the top.
I like to think that considering all the good qualities I have, hair is one I can live without - if I have to. :-))
You should message me if
... you consider yourself to be an active, intelligent, attractive, positive thinking, enthusiastic woman who wants to be with someone who "has his act together".
And BTW, I don't have an "upgraded membership" so if you decide you like what you see here don't just click on 'like', let me know!
The two of us