MrScandal
38 San Antonio, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MrScandal
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Just to save everyone's time: I am in an open poly relationship. No, I'm not cheating. Yes, Im more than happy to put you in contact with her if you really want to confirm the veracity of my relationship status.

For those who kept reading:

I'm a full time IT guy, almost 20 years into my career (yeah I started early), part time musician and dj. I started working in IT to pay for the music career..and well..it's still paying for it lol

I was born in Germany (Air Force brat) grew up mostly outside of DC, and bounced around the Northeast for a couple years after high school before kicking off my IT career in Boston.

I've been in Texas since 2003, and having grown up in the military I get itchy feet every couple years. In the 11 years I've been here I've moved 7 times. Apart from a move to Dallas for 18 months, I've spent that whole time in San Antonio. Although, I am starting to wonder if I'm in the right city lol the volume of 80+% matches in Austin and Dallas are seriously kicking the shit out of San Antonio.

Oh yeah.. I suck at having my picture taken, and I'm way more charming in person than online. I have a very low tolerance for hypocrisy; caveat emptor.

"No sympathy for the devil; keep that in mind. Buy the ticket, take the ride...and if it occasionally gets a little heavier than what you had in mind, well...maybe chalk it off to forced conscious expansion: Tune in, freak out, get beaten."
Hunter S. Thompson
What I’m doing with my life
Keeping busy with a full time job, and a few consulting gigs, one signed band, and frequent trips to the gym for the sake of vanity and fighting off 40.
I’m really good at
Reading people, over-analysis, information security and network architecture, cooking/grilling, paintball.. ok I'm reasonably good. Need to spend more time on the field than I have lately.
And I'm absolutely exceptional at being terrible with money, but it's mine, I'm not in debt and I've a respectable retirement fund. But hey, it's just money, and you can't take it with you.
Drinking you under the table.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes and my height.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books:
Non-fiction and technical reading, history, politics, splatterpunk, horror, suspense.
The Marketplace series, Anne Rice, Stephen King, Hunter S Thompson, Robert Heinlein, Poppy Z Brite, Venus in Furs, DeSade, Heinlein, etc..
I read Sun Tzu's "The Art of War", Marcus Aurelius's "Meditations" and Robert Greene's "The 48 Laws of Power" once a year

Movies:
Comedy (the drier the better), dramas, action, sci-fi, musicals, the occasional twisted asian horror flick
Tarantino, Ritchie, Kevin Smith. Almost anything with Robert DeNiro, Ed Norton, Anthony Hopkins, Al Pacino.

TV:
True Detective, Criminal Minds, Luther, Lie to Me, The Wire, House, Game of Thrones, Blacklist, House of Cards, Family Guy, American Dad, Oz, The Tudors, Archer, the first couple seasons of Weeds. Anything kinda dry and dark, but with a sense of humor

Music:
Mostly anything. Yeah, I know it's a cliche, but I've been playing one instrument or another since childhood, so my musical tastes range from classical to punk to 90's alternative and grunge, etc..

Food:
the spicer the better, not a fan of eggplant, avocados and cucumber, aside from that I'm willing to give it a try
The six things I could never do without
1) insulin (type 1 diabetic)
2) music
3) my pooches
4) debate/discussion
5) the constant cognitive dissonance caused by being a cynic and a hopeless romantic
6) a challenge
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The immortal words of Socrates when he said, "I drank what."

Why a significant plurality of profiles on here have some comment detailing how sarcastic the person. I'm honestly about to start keeping track of how many times I see that lol

I also wonder why there is a prevalence of people unable to discern the difference between there, they're, and their as well as your and you're, wear/where/were ( I don't know how that last one gets all fuckered, and yet it does..)

But mostly I think about ways to advance; what's the next step, what's the next thing I could be doing. What is the thing I'm going to do in life so that after I'm gone, people who never knew me will know I was here. I'm pretty driven, and the curse of it is that I have a hard time being complacent.
On a typical Friday night I am
either out at *insert random bar here* , up in Austin at *insert random bar named Elysium here*, or home reading or working in the studio. Or just working. Maybe blowing shit up in Borderlands. Maybe out on the motorcycle. It really just depends on my mood, but usually I'm out somewhere.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If Rustin Cohle, Greg House and Rob Gordon magically and a love child in some weird, fucked up, Junior kind of way, it would be my spirit animal.

Also if you get all those references, you're awesome.

Sometimes I think I'm still 21. And then my body punishes me for it lol but then I'm too stubborn to listen, and the dance plays on
You should message me if
you feel like it; co-dependents need not apply.
Also, this is a dating site, if you don't have any pictures posted, you can skip over messaging me. If you talk to someone in person, you're both able to see what the other person looks like. The closest analog to that on a website is a simple photo.
More