MrViper
33 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MrViper
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Ok, to all those who have decided to take a few minutes to look over my profile: I will be amazed if you actually take time to read all of it. I don't expect it to be a best-selling autobiography but at least enjoyable.

I tend to be a storyteller and enjoy telling stories such as the time I was given a police escort to a Maroon 5 concert or was the victim of a drive-by slush drink attack.

I am originally from a town with a population of less than 700 people in an area of Pennsylvania known as Pennsyltucky. I mean we are talking a town with only two traffic lights and no pizza place. Though I do like to visit and enjoy taking in nature while I am home, I was always a city boy trapped in a country boy's body.

I love to travel! I recently did my first trip to Europe this April (went to Vienna, Budapest, and London). I have lived in a few places (Alabama, Tennessee, etc.) and done a great deal of road trippin' in the states.

I am more of a phone and in person conversation type but I have learned to understand the benefit of talking online at first.
What I’m doing with my life
Here goes the resume portion of our profile tour:

I work as a mental health counselor at a CUNY college and as a media technician at Columbia University.

I have thought of becoming a sex therapist. I tend to talk openly about sex and strive to fully explore my sexuality (I'm a 2 on the Kinsey Scale), feel strongly about the importance of being emotionally mature, and help others with their exploration.

In my spare time, I practice two forms of martial arts: Tai Chi and Aikido. In addition, I am classically trained in playing the trombone, and I love playing jazz. I would like to start or join a ska band someday. I also dabble with the guitar.

In addition to music and martial arts, I like to read, go to live music of almost every genre as much as possible. I also love taking both random and planned road trips with my friends and meeting new ones.

I love running, but only have enough time to run about twice a week. I recently pushed through to being able to run 10 miles. I am now working towards being able to run a half marathon soon.

I have been homebrewing now for a little over two years. I have had many tasty brews and enjoy coming up with new flavor combinations.

Recently restarted my pursuit of learning Spanish and now get to be the guy talking to his phone on the subway.
I’m really good at
I spent about a year as a cook in a private Italian restaurant. I can make a mean Manhattan, Tom Collins, and experiment with drinks on the fly at my place. I'm not too shabby at playing pool (once I get the rust off) and making people laugh (well I hope they're laughing with me).
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes, my smile, how I like to laugh, and my energy level (I am not really a stay at home person though I tend be from time to time).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Anything Kurt Vonnegut, Sharon Lee & Steve Miller, Anne Rice, the adventures of Sherlock Holmes, David Sedaris, 11/22/63, the Dresden Files, Geneology of Morals, Stranger in a Strange Land, Fahrenheit 451, Lord of the Rings, the Chronicles of Narnia, 1984, A Clockwork Orange, the Unbearable Lightness of Being, War and Peace, Stumbling on Happiness, the Road Less Traveled, the Ethical Slut, and Sex at Dawn.

Movies: Love Gaspar Noe, National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation (I watch it every year), the Pink Panther series (the original version), Gangs of New York, Flight of the Navigator, most Sophia Coppola, Wes Anderson and Quentin Tarantino films, A Beautiful Mind, Donnie Darko, the Waterboy, Star Wars, Star Trek, American Psycho, Kung Fu Hustle, the Terminal, Boondock Saints, High Fidelity, Little Miss Sunshine, a Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy, and many, many more.

Shows: I tend to do marathon style via Netflix when I do watch something. A few favorites are Mythbusters, Jessica Jones, Daredevil, Supernatural, Arrow, Sherlock, Masters of Sex, Steven Universe, Futurama, and some anime such as Cowboy Bebop, Attack on Titan, and Gurren Laggan. I am also definitely a fan of Angel, Californication, and Eureka.

Music: Pretty much everything though I have some specifics when it comes to country (I will listen to it and may even sing along but you will never catch me buying a country album). Trust me, the full list of bands I like covers a very broad music spectrum. It is easier just to ask me but to give you a sense of how broad, here are a few: Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, Sleigh Bells, George Gershwin, Florence and the Machine, Hank & Cupcakes, Trombone Shorty, Imogen Heap, Miles Davis, Herbie Hancock, Green Day, Phoenix, Scissor Sisters, Tegan and Sara, Mumford and Sons, Lady Gaga (guilty pleasure), Barenaked Ladies, Reel Big Fish, Beastie Boys, Ben Folds, Bach, Glitch Mob, Yoshido Brothers, Streelight Manifesto, and Disturbed.

Food: I tend to gravitate between Japanese (sushi especially), Thai, Italian, and Mediterranean usually. Otherwise, I like too many different foods to list all of them here and love to try any food once.
The six things I could never do without
After much thought and recent discussions with friends, I have come to realize I can do without a great deal and tend to work towards less attachments. The two lists of six things (one with objects and one with people/intangibles) are things that enrich my life.

Objects:
my contact lenses, tea, a device that either allows me to hear or produce music of my choosing, pizza, a way to have a hot morning shower, and my passport

People and Intangibles:
friends, family, time to myself, balance in life, self-growth, a curious mind
I spend a lot of time thinking about
beyond the usual things people tend to put thought towards...

-why it was so much fun for a friend to dress up in only a clown mask, shorts, and hip waiters, be covered in flour by me then shot at with paintball guns at relatively close range while he tried to dance? nevermind i know the answer.

time/space travel, human interaction, what I want to explore next within New York, how to put together a cheap yet fun trip to some part of the world

It's usually around this time of year that I think about rocking a short beard again. Thoughts?
On a typical Friday night I am
- grabbing a drink while listening to music in a lounge/bar or some type of funky, chilled out place

OR

- calling up friends with the goal of finding something new to do in the city (rebel bingo, watching people play drunk chess, something along those lines)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a geek. And I'm passionate. Yeah, I said it.

Also, I am a BIG Doctor Who fan, for reasons that few can appreciate.

420 friendly but never alone
You should message me if
- you tend to play dating by ear and do not have a set plan of expectations

- you want to play pool or learn how to play pool better, or have fun making fools out of ourselves while trying

- you love gaining knowledge for the sake of knowledge

- if you've come this far, we should grab a drink.
More