70 San Mateo, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
A warm and affectionate nature is my strong suit, but I am also highly intelligent and articulate, as well as passionate and intense.

My interests include music -- playing, singing, dancing, or listening to an eclectic mix; food -- cooking and sharing intimate dinners at home, or enjoying an occasional dining-out experience; outdoor activities -- hiking the hills with my canine companion, or gazing into a seaside tidepool; exploration -- revisiting places I've enjoyed before, or discovering the new and interesting; entertainment -- attending a live performance, or catching a film at the local cinema; and relaxing at home -- cuddling up to watch a movie, spending a weekend morning in bed, or sipping cognac in front of a roaring fire. But any activity can be fun, and everything is more fun with the right companion....

I seek a best friend, loving partner, and life companion. My ideal match is someone who already shares some of my interests, but also wants to show me his and try new adventures together. He is emotionally mature, financially solvent, intelligent and articulate, and has high integrity. He knows from experience that a great relationship requires communication, cooperation, and compromise. He is neither perfect nor seeking perfection, and has learned the value of forgiveness and unconditional love. Romantic and affectionate, he is ready to connect with a woman once again as best friends and lovers.

Together we will create a committed relationship based on the kind of trust and mutual support that will allow us to thrive, both as individuals and partners. We will share a certain chemistry that attracts and binds us to one another -- emotionally, physically, intellectually, and spiritually -- even when the going gets tough.
What I’m doing with my life
I am semi-retired, but continue to seek new ways to contribute my experience and energy to people and projects that make a difference in the world. I am also involved with a liberal/progressive spiritual community bound together by a covenant of relationship rather than belief. I am involved in a lot of musical activities, including singing in a choir, a round-singing group, and a close-harmonies group, and I also play the ukulele. I also spend time maintaining and improving my house (a perennial fixer-upper); cooking and eating; and enjoying outdoor adventures, particularly with my canine companion.
I’m really good at
just about anything I set my mind to do!
The first things people usually notice about me
are my agile mind, high energy level, and youthful appearance.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Most of my reading is non-fiction, usually because I'm trying to learn more about something that's currently important to me. I see most movies at home on DVD; I especially like heart-centered movies (AKA "chick flicks"), but a good movie is a good movie in ANY genre. I'm an equal-opportunity music-lover and -maker. And I love all kinds of foods and various cuisines; I am quite competent in the kitchen, and enjoy cooking up something special with a friend / lover.
The six things I could never do without
Friends and lovers -- having people in my life whom I love and appreciate, and who feel the same way about me.
Meaningful work -- having places to apply my skills and energy where I feel challenged and can make a contribution.
Food and water -- having enough of both so my needs are met and I am able to maintain good health.
Shelter -- having a place to live that supports my needs ... physically, emotionally, and spiritually.
Exercise -- having opportunities to move and stretch that enable me to keep my body and mind in good shape.
Community -- being part of an extended "family" of like-minded folks, working together to transform ourselves and the world.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Meaningful work / life purpose -- how to use my one wild-and-precious life to contribute to the world.
Love -- how to nurture and grow my relationships with friends, lovers, community.
Money -- how to attract it, manage it, and make it last for the duration.
Health -- how to stay healthy and strong, especially as one grows older.
On a typical Friday night I am
with friends, at home or out -- cooking/eating dinner, watching a movie, listening to or making music, talking and sharing;
or perhaps home alone, watching a DVD or working on a project.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
isn't something I would share in this venue. Private things are best shared privately, between trusted partners.
You should message me if
you are an intelligent, articulate, progressive-thinking man who is close to me in both age and geography; you are seeking a deep, long-lasting connection; and you feel we might enjoy each other's company.