36 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a native Southwestern girl who's been living in the big city now for a little over a year. While I miss the wide open sky and mountains out west, I also find myself right at home in the concrete jungle. I just try to make the chaos and the masses a little calmer and smaller by creating the community I want to be in, full of love, laughter and friendship.

Bicycles make my life better. Always. They're fast and free and take you wherever your heart desires. One day I hope to ride across the country, or down through South America, or around SE Asia. In the meantime, I'm concentrating on not getting doored and not running over pedestrians staring at their phones (Look up people!).

I'm honest, probably to a fault. But I admire that in myself and in other people. No one likes a liar. Just be genuine and everybody wins.
What I’m doing with my life
I've done my fair share of traveling and living abroad and grad school and seasonal work--basically anything not to have a "real job". But I've got one now and I think I kind of like it, at least for the moment. Of course I daydream about traveling to Turkey or the Phillipines, but they'll still be there during my long summer breaks, one of teaching's many perks.
I’m really good at
laughing, living in the moment, cooking, being adventurous, traveling, adapting, tying a cherry stem in a knot in my mouth, yoga, riding bicycles, asking questions, growing things, looking at maps, science
The first things people usually notice about me
My loud laugh and lots of curly hair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: East of Eden, The Guaymas Chronicles, The Windup Bird Chronicle, Hard Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World, all the other Murakami books, The Woman in the Dunes, The Monkey Wrench Gang, House of Fortune, Bel Canto, Love in the Time of Cholera, Omnivore's Dilemma

Podcasts: This American Life, Wait Wait Don't Tell Me, Radiolab, Professor Blastoff, The Moth, Serial

Food: These days I am particularly partial to hummus, butternut squash/pumpkin and home-made breakfast smoothies. Separately, not together. I also love Vietnamese food and have found a great place I go to almost weekly in Chinatown.

Music: Wax Tailor, The Band, Girl Talk, RATATAT, Mumford & Sons, The Avett Brothers, Katy Perry, Gotan Project, Blockhead, Modest Mouse, Alt-J, The Lumineers, Sam Cooke, Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Of Monsters adn Men, Daft Punk, The Cinematic Orchestra, Soulive, Thievery Corporation, Yo-Yo Ma
The six things I could never do without
Right now, I'm really enjoying:
My bicycle. Always.
All the options of things to do on a beautiful Saturday afternoon
Good friends
The fall, especially with the pumpkin beer that it brings.
Coffee. Every morning.
A place to call home
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what life has in store for me
why cars feel the need to honk around cyclists
how I can get out of the city more
the most recent Professor Blastoff podcast
what to cook
the best routes to get around the city by bike
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually at happy hour. A long week spent with 8th graders necessitates some unwinding.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I absolutely love watching Jeopardy. This includes yelling out answers and making fun of Alex Trebek.
You should message me if
You're open, funny, kind and intelligent
You like to be active and want to go play
You would love to go to the NY Philharmonic with me
You think it would be pretty awesome to get a backstage tour of the natural history museum
And, just because you want to