46 Austin, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I blew into town on the wings of a hurricane and have greatly enjoyed these seven years of making this nerd's paradise that is Austin my home. I finally finished malingering in the halls of higher education after completing a master's at UT. Although, as the memory of the pain that is graduate school subsides with time, I find myself thinking that taking more courses could be fun. Maybe it's time to take up making pottery or improving my data analysis skills. I've got the type of mind that needs to keep learning and having new experiences or I find myself becoming bored. I was happy to discover Austin's extensive selection of meetup groups, which offer all kinds of new activities to try- table tennis may be next on my list. On the social side, I enjoy spending time with the friends I've made here. Recently, they've gotten me into going to pub trivia. Other favorite activities include going to museums and festivals, plays at Zach Scott, movies at Alamo, hunting for finds at thrift or used book stores, hanging out in libraries and bookstores, watching films, gardening, walking in the park, horseback riding, trying new recipes, playing Scrabble, mini golf at Peter Pan, and traveling. Overall, I try to live a fairly simple and sustainable lifestyle.

I'm hoping to find someone whose interests complement my own. Someone who is stable, dependable, focused, and possesses the type of quirky intelligence that keeps things interesting. I'm seeking someone who is comfortable with having a daily routine but flexible enough to embrace trying new activities so life does not sink into a fully planned out rut. I'm looking forward to spending the time necessary to get to really know a person and learn whether we have the potential for something long-term. Politically, I'm fairly liberal so I'm likely not to mesh well with someone in the tea party. I enjoy outdoor activities but am not an extreme sports person who looks forward to running marathons or taking hundred mile bike rides every weekend.
What I’m doing with my life
Basically enjoying life. I'm employed in a public sector environmental position that I find rewarding. I have a community garden plot that I've been working on with varying levels of success. Mainly I seem to be growing the most expensive vegetables on the planet. Back home, I worked as an interpreter for deaf students and as a middle school teacher for behaviorally disordered students. Since I'm no longer working in schools, I get my time in with kids by volunteering with a mentoring program. Lately, I've joined some conversation groups to work on improving my ASL and German skills. Since doing a study abroad in Berlin, I want to find ways to spend more time in Germany and to visit Poland. European travel was so much more cost-effective when it was on UT's dime. I'm working on improving my fitness level after getting sidelined for a time due to some medical stuff and I have my sights set on being ready for my first 5K next year. I've started back to doing some yoga exercises and would eventually like to get back to riding horses and doing taekwondo regularly again.
I’m really good at
Nurturing small creatures (I bottle raised my cats from their first day of life); Being trustworthy and dependable; Making good tasting vegan food; Riding horses; Spotting typos; Making order from chaos; Planning hurricane evacuations.
The first things people usually notice about me
Generally, it seems to be either my smile or my eyes. Also that I tend to be a bit reserved until I get to know someone.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I'm an avid reader of mainly non-fiction with some quirky fiction thrown in. I also have a thing for adolescent lit. Some of my favorite books are In the Garden of Beasts, The Namesake, and A Wrinkle in Time. Favorite authors include Allison Weir, Christopher Moore, Jonathon Kozol, and Tim Dorsey. I have a friend that says another friend and I should be charter members of the Grim Sh*t Bookclub because of our love for gritty sociological studies like Savage Inequalities or dystopian fiction such as One Second After.

Movies/TV: My Netflix and Amazon lists tend to be all over the place. Depending on mood, I can go for any brow from low to high. I like documentaries, foreign films and a variety of comedies and dramas including Big Bang Theory, Falling Skies, Treme, Goodbye Lenin, Doctor Who, The Lives of Others, V, Austin Powers, Law & Order, O Brother Where Art Thou, Dr. Strangelove, King Corn, Shower, and Criminal Minds.

Music: This may be a heresy in Austin, but I'm not a huge music fan although since moving here, I did fulfill a childhood dream of seeing Willie Nelson. I must confess a great fondness for 80's pop music (radio tends to be set to BOB FM) and older country singers such as Johnny Cash. I also have a weakness for bagpipe music.

Food: I've been a long-time vegetarian and have become mostly vegan since the discovery of a milk allergy. I really enjoy getting together with friends and cooking food to share. I enjoy going out to Austin's vegetarian/vegan restaurants or to get Indian or Asian food. My future partner does not need to be vegetarian or vegan as long as they are okay with my eating that way.
The six things I could never do without
Since I'm fortunate enough to have my basic needs met, I'll have to say:
Library card
Kindle Fire
Community garden plot and plants
Time with family and friends
Opportunities for new experiences
I was going to include my morning coffee and newspaper on the list until I realized they definitely fell under basic needs.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Who syncs the traffic lights downtown and what were they thinking? What plants will thrive in my relatively shady garden plot? What would I do if my cats started behaving like the ones in My Cat From Hell?
On a typical Friday night I am
Friday nights tend to be quiet as I unwind after the work week. Maybe going to dinner or a play or a movie or just hanging out with friends at an after work happy hour or watching a video at one of our homes. I can also be found curled up in the recliner with my cats and a good book.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've always found pirates to be rather unnerving and I will likely never take part in talk like a pirate day.
You should message me if
You find anything I've written to be intriguing and you'd like to know more. We can exchange some emails/phone calls and then maybe meet for coffee to find out if we've got some chemistry in person.