30Poughkeepsie, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a 24-year old guy from Poughkeepsie. I'm kind of a modern day renaissance man, into a little bit of everything. I'm here looking for some meaningful companionship that could turn into a serious relationship. I'm a colorful guy with an inimitable personality and, if nothing else, I'm always blunt and real.

In my spare time, I like to hike, listen to and play music, learn foreign languages, study history, science, philosophy, etc. I enjoy video games (good ol' SNES is still probably my favorite system, I still have the one I got for my birthday in 1992). I play golf, build model ships, read and write poetry, work on cars, go swimming, sit by the river and watch the tide roll in and out, enjoy the change of the seasons, and I love to laugh and make others laugh. Right now, I'm working on learning to speak Telugu, the language of the Andhra Pradesh state of India. Just because I think it's a beautiful language.

I love the way the sky glows white at night when it snows, I'm surprisingly good at baking. I like working in gardens and sitting and relaxing in cool hemlock groves. I love swimming holes, cruising down the highway on a spring day with classic rock blaring on the radio, holding hands and snuggling, playing word games, amusement parks, plum brandy, barbecues, and women who have an excess of personality. I think the human imaginations is one of the more powerful forces in the planet.

As far as romance goes, I've very affectionate, and I love giving kindness and attention to a special lady. I'm very loyal and caring towards my friends and girlfriends.

A warning: I'm prone to burst our singing at any time, particularly when listening to an oldies station on the radio. Other times, it might be in a foreign language, just because I love the sound of the words. It's not a pretentious thing, I just love language and the beauty of words.

My dream is to eventually retire on a large parcel of the land up in the Adirondacks and keep a few acres out of the developers hands, and just spend time enjoying the land.

Just one warning: I do not, under any circumstances, want to have children. Don't expect me to change my mind on this.

Update: I have a girlfriend as of now, so I'm just looking to meet new friends on here.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now I'm working for the NYSTA, mostly a placeholder job, cause the economy still sucks. I work as a handyman in my spare time to earn extra money. I love working with my hands and my head, and intend to work on getting a few trade certifications in the upcoming two years. I'm going in for an HVAC certification soon, and an working on an eventual placement with an industrial HVAC and pipe-fitting company.

My dream job would probably be to eventually work as a private contractor, doing trade work. I've had experience working in construction during college and I love the satisfaction of working hard with my body and my brain and seeing a project grow and take shape.
I’m really good at
Taking contraptions apart, identifying what's wrong with them, and putting them back together. Speaking foreign languages. Finding my way anywhere. Making people laugh.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes--they're a deep hazel and very clear. I'm also told that I have a distinguish, old-fashioned face. I also have a rather off-beat sense of humor and something of an old-timey air about me. People tell me I have a very 1940's personality.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Poetry of most kinds, particularly 1900's-1950's American poets like Wallace Stevens, Hart Crane, Edna Millay, etc. I like writers like Hemingway, Gogol, classic Sci-Fi novels.

I like movies of all kinds. Favorites include Casablanca, It's a Mad Mad Mad Mad World, Taxi Driver, Dr. Strangelove, Tommy Boy, The (1963!) Haunting, Spirited Away, Scarface, Kaadhalan (Indian Film), and cheesy B-movies. I have a soft spot for Indian films, (bollywood, tollywood, kollywood, etc). And anything on MST3K!

Shows: Mythbusters, Seinfeld, MacGyver, etc.

Music: Classic Rock and Roll, 1980's, Ragtime, Folk, Classical, 1990's Alternative, Trance/techno, Indian music. Basically anything other than hip-hop/rap, modern pop or dubstep. I particularly love the oldies from the 50's through the 70's, though. My car's radio is usually tuned to 101.5 classic rock or 98.9 oldies.

Favorite artists include: The Who, CCR, Iron Maiden, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, The Police, Arthur Collins, Cab Calloway, Elvis, Tom Petty, etc...

Food: Anything with lots of flavor. Definitely a meat-lover as well. Love spicy foods, Indian food, barbecue food, etc.
Six things I could never do without
1. Friendship
2. Music
3. The outdoors
4. My car
5. Books
6. My laptop.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My head is very desultory, so probably everything. Conversations with me could go anywhere because of this.
On a typical Friday night I am
Never a typical Friday night. I could be working, or go hiking, go out and dine, hit the interstate and just enjoy cruising, or just relax at home and cuddle up with someone special. My schedule's always changing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I think a woman's laughter is very sexy.
You should message me if
You like a guy who's into a little bit of everything, very affectionate and off-beat, and if you enjoy the prospect of adventuring, exploring new things, having conversations about whatever comes to mind, and appreciating the great big world around us.
The two of us