Nakito_LaMaga
27 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Nakito_LaMaga
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am Eva. Originally from Venezuela but grew up in Spain most of my life.

I have a special interest in Latin America as a latina woman and a social activist. A lot of what I do relates to marxist politics, writing, thinking, feminism, Spanish, sex and long-term organizing. I'm also very art-minded and I really enjoy talking my passions out and hearing other people's.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a Spanish teacher and professor.

I am a committed organizer. I'd consider myself a socialist-feminist, and I actively engage in meetings, study groups, and on the ground activism with that perspective.

Learning about Attachment Theory to better my relationships and myself.

I try to keep an open mind and immerse myself into challenging environments.
I’m really good at
Organizing, listening, teaching, being really fucking honest, cultivating good relationships and friendships
The first things people usually notice about me
My accent, definitely. This is both a good thing (I do like how it sounds) and a bad thing (so many of my interactions start with "Oh, you have an accent, where are you from?" and then me saying: "Venezuela", and the conversation ends cause not many people know much about my country.

Also, that I tend to smile a lot. I promise it's genuine!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Haymarket Books (google it!), Milan Kundera, One Hundred Years Of Solitude, Julio Cortazar, Rosario Castellanos, Alejandra Pizarnik, Borges, Alejo Carpentier, The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao.

Sex at dawn, Revolution at point zero, We created Chavez, Marxism and Women's Oppression, Black liberation and socialism, homage to catalonia, Women, Race & Class, El albergue de las mujeres tristes, and many more.

Music: http://www.last.fm/user/Nakito_LaMaga

Movies: Pedro Almodovar, Do The Right Thing, Stanley Kubrick, Oldboy, Lucrecia Martel, Even the rain, Sex and Lucía, Black Power Mixtape, Tarantino, 3 Iron, and lots more. I love film, especially when i watch it for a second time and have great conversations afterwards, and I'm pretty open to anything not too mainstream.

Food: Indian, Spanish (Spain), Mexican, Ethiopian, CHEESE.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
- How to become a more well-rounded independent person
- What physical activity (exercise) do I want to do next?
- Political struggles and history
- How difficult it is to find well-rounded men who can communicate maturely
- How does change happen?
- The community that I so much need to feel okay
- Women. Solidarity among us all, and how to build strong networks to take care of each other
On a typical Friday night I am
Going dancing, having nice long walks, reading a book at a late night coffee shop, relaxing with friends or watching a movie home.
You should message me if
- You're looking to meet someone who might become a friend, a partner, or a casual date, but none of these will happen if you tend to have superficial relationships with people. I enjoy being by myself and I'm not looking for a relationship as my source of happiness, but as a good companionship to my already good life :)
More