33Iowa City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My main goal in life is to always live my life in a way that I am proud of. This means that I treat others as I would like to be treated. I believe in respect, nature, following your passion instead of the dollar, family and friends, getting your hands dirty, honesty, and laughter.
I haven't quite figured out what level of relationship I am searching for on here. I am mostly looking for someone to enjoy life with... which means getting outdoors, being active, and laughing. If the relationship is to progress beyond friends, this person would be witty, intelligent, equivalent attractiveness, passionate about something important, comfortable with expressing themselves, and outdoorsy. The environment is very important to me, so this person at least needs to respect that aspect of my life if not join in. I like the hilarious, nerdy, but actually cool guys.
What I’m doing with my life
I've moved and had a lot of jobs, but each experience has taught me a great deal about where I'm heading. My jobs have always been in the environmental/natural resources field, because that is what I am passionate about. My passion is regularly acknowledged and encouraged, so hopefully I'm headed for great things.
Over the last many years, job tasks have included: teaching children that lions do not live in MN woods and how to start a survival fire with one match, bathing a snake, performing a biological survey of an oak savanna remnant, chainsawing, burning brush piles in 100 deg. + heat indexes, IDing any fuzzy/feathery/slimy/green/etc. unknown to me, and taking pretty pictures.
Since I work outdoors, the winter is pretty slow for me. I have a job that helps pay the bills through the winter until I get back to my real work. Outside of that, fitness is really important to me. So I have a pretty intense workout session 6 days a week to make sure I'm ready for field season when the winter is over!
I’m really good at
Remembering details and dates
Dancing (not the formal way though... I'm terrible at being led... but VERY open to trying to learn!)
Learning plants and animals
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I would love to read, but I end up falling asleep within 5 minutes or staring out the window for long periods of time. If I did read I would read non-fiction with environmental or biographical themes.
Movies: My all time favorites are Tommy Boy, Goonies, National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation, Forest Gump, Star Wars 4-6, and Lord of the Rings.
Shows: There have been many over the years. Currently, Arrested Development, Dexter, Family Guy, Parks and Rec, and 30 Rock are my favorites.
Food: I am not picky AT ALL. I have only discovered 2 things that I do not like in all my years of eating. Picky eaters flabbergast me.
Six things I could never do without
Since I regularly asked this very question to students, I have to give the answer that I was trying to get out of them: air, food, water, shelter/warmth, and PMA! I'll be impressed if you can tell me the rule of 3's and what PMA is without looking it up.
Beyond survival: Family, furry friends, nature, laptop, milk, opportunities to learn, explore, and grow
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What my next career move will be
How I want the world to be
The best is when I can forget all of the above and I don't so much think, but just stand in awe as I observe the beauty of the world
On a typical Friday night I am
Well, definitely nothing interesting. I'm hoping to change that =) It starts off with a workout though.
You should message me if
You fulfill a good chunk of my second paragraph in "My self-summary" above.
The two of us