57 Old Lyme, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi – Thanks for reading my profile.
So what can I tell you about me?
I’m an active outdoors person who, on any given day, can be found riding a horse (my favorite pastime), talking long walks in nature with my dog, riding my bike, or Kayaking. I’ve also enjoyed “outdoorsy ” vacations having gone on an outdoor adventure vacation to New Zealand, a dude ranch in Idaho, and a bike trip to Ireland. All were amazing and I hope to do more like them! On my bucket list are trips to the Northwest US, Colorado, Western Canada, Figi Islands, and Costa Rica, and Asia.

When I’m not out in nature, I love spending time with friends, checking out new neighborhoods and restaurants (especially breakfast spots), going to movies, theater, and concerts, testing new recipes (not much of a cook but I’m working on it), going antiquing, reading a good page turning book, driving out to the country and getting away for the weekend. I have a heightened sense of intuition and spirituality that doesn't really fit into any particular religion and I like exploring it through meditation, reiki, and pilates.

I would describe myself as a woman who is strong, smart, independent, intuitive, and knows herself pretty well. I’m pretty low-maintenance and and I think I’m easy to be with. I enjoy having my alone time in addition to spending time with my partner and my friends. It doesn’t take a lot to make me happy – I love the simple pleasures of enjoying the colors of any season, smelling freshly cut grass and spring flowers, and relishing a yummy ice cream cone – Cherries Garcia is my favorite. I’m open and honest and willing to be vulnerable, especially if it helps me to grow. I love romance, cuddling, and love sitting by a fire, listening to music, having a glass of something, and getting lost in conversation- so much so that we lose track of time.

What am I looking for in a partner?
I’m looking for someone who loves the outdoors and like to take outdoor trips, likes to cook (and hopefully teach me a few things or we can learn together), loves animals- especially dogs and horses, likes to do some of the things that I like to do but also does things he’s passionate about and is willing to share them with me. My partner is financially and emotionally stable – preferably someone who has worked through their baggage and now just has carry-on.
My partner makes me smile as soon as he enters the room. He has a great sense of humor, is intelligent, asks great questions, and is a great conversationalist but not a conversation hogger. He is strong, intelligent, independent, romantic, likes to cuddle, and knows himself well and can articulate what he wants and needs. He can also tell me when he wants time with me or time for himself and/or with his friends.
I’m looking for a partnership where we can love, laugh and play together, share in the fun as well as the responsibilities of being in a relationship, communicate openly and honestly with one another, trust and confide and support one another in everything we do, challenge each other to think and grow-physically, emotionally and spiritually – to be the best people we can be separately and together. I once asked my brother-in-law how he knew my sister was “the one”, and he said, “I love the way I am when I’m around her.” That’s what I’d like to say about my partner as well.
What I’m doing with my life
Working to make myself a better person and the world a better place. I moved back here from Chicago to care for my aging parents - Dad is 95 and still very active and alive for his age - his memory is better than mine! Mom is in a nursing home but we still visit her just about daily. Looking to meet some new people who want to show me what the East Coast has to offer!
I’m really good at
Listening and thinking about things from a variety of different perspectives.
Oh - and I usually have really good parking karma - I hope I just didn't jinx myself :)
The first things people usually notice about me
My deep blue eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books – The Red Tent, The Kite Runner, Time Traveler’s Wife, any books by Barbara Kingsolver, Memoirs of a Geisha, Dog and Horse training books, best-selling novels about people overcoming adversity.

Movies –Classics – anything with Cary Grant or Katherine Hepburn; Movies that make you think or challenge you to grow, like Brooklyn and Spotlight.

Shows – The Good Wife, Downton Abbey – actually, almost everything on PBS! haven't had much time for TV lately and there hasn't been that much on that I want to watch.

Music – Anything from classics like the Beatles, to Folk Music (Dar Williams, Richard Shindell, Mary Chapin Carpenter), to Independent Rock, to Country (Allison Krauss, Garth Brooks) to classical.

Food –Just about anything that has lots of flavor, is healthy, but is not too spicy. However, I’m not a big fan of sushi like the rest of the world seems to be – sorry! But I do love cooked fish.
The six things I could never do without
1. My dog
2. My family
3. A horse – I hope to own one again sometime soon!
4. My friends
5. The outdoors – lots of trees and greenery and opportunities for hiking
6. Ice cream
These are not in any particular order, by the way.
On a typical Friday night I am
Chilling out – spending a relaxing evening with friends, going to a concert, reading a book, watching a movie -just depends on what I'm in the mood for.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I still listen to bubblegum music like the Monkees occasionally- brings out the goofy side of me and puts me in a good mood.
You should message me if
WARNING: Any institutions, companies or individuals using this site or any of its associated sites for studies, projects, or data massing/retrieval, commerce or amusement you DO NOT have permission to use or gleen any of my profile or pictures in any way or form past, current and future. If you have or do, it will be considered a violation of my privacy and will be subject to the fullest legal action against you. It is recommended that other members copy and post this same notice.