44Salem, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for new friends to hang out with or dating.
I love camping, especially with friends, in groups to hang out away from the pace and responsibility of everyday life. The mountains, the coast, open fields, it doesn't matter, so long as it allows me to recharge and refresh myself. I enjoy Hiking, but right now I don't have much in the way of kit for long trips, so it is mostly day hiking for me. Also, I am recovering from a badly sprained ankle and knee(after a year it is still tender and swells) that is limiting my ability to go long distances or rough terrain.
I have traveled all over the world. I lived for a year each in England, Iraq, Afghanistan, and traveled to France, Belgium, Wales, Germany Qatar, Kuwait, and Canada, with short times in several other countries. I have been to Ur and the Bamyan Valley. I want to continue to travel as much as possible, both inside and outside the country.
I have taken several different martial arts (two different Okinawan Karate styles, Japanese Ju Jitsu, Boxing, a touch of Akido) and enjoy them, but have generally had to move before I have gotten very advanced in any one style. I want to get back into it again. Krav Maga is the style that sounds most interesting to me at the moment. Also just started doing CrossFit and having fun that way. The accumulated damage of the years, along with pain from the workouts makes me move like an old man, but it is a facade. Underneath I'm pretty good.

I am happy, active, and looking for fun
What I’m doing with my life
I am trying to be a force for good in the world.
I am working on remodeling my 1910 house.
I recently started my Masters Degree. Something completely different from my BS, which was in Geography, and which I am actually using in my career.
I am trying to become a better woodworker.
I work in Law Enforcement (I am not an officer or agent), so if you are into illegal things, I am not interested.
I’m really good at
Figuring things out. I am a hands on type of person and enjoy doing things for myself and my friends.
Cooking. I enjoy making things and rarely follow the recipe exactly. Cooking for others is a lot more fun than alone.
The first things people usually notice about me
People don't see me until it is too late. I've either got you, or I've fled back into the wilderness.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am an avid reader. History, Science, Scifi, Fantasy, whatever catches my interest at a given time. Recently I have been reading a lot more fiction than non-fiction because my life is often a bit too real and I need the escape.
In movies I tend to go for Comedy and Action most of the time. Generally, the story doesn't have to be great literature in order to be fun. Often the less serious movies are the most fun. I am there for the ride. I don't remember the last movie I saw in a first run theater. Most of the time I go to the pub theaters.
I enjoy punk most often, especially the older stuff. Sex Pistols, Ramones, Dropkick Murphys, Pogues, Flogging Molly, Clash, Bad Religion, Meatloaf, Queen. While not a big country fan, if you don't like at least some Johnny Cash, you have no soul. Tom Petty has written some of the greatest music ever.
I will admit that I am a foodie. I enjoy all kinds of food from different cultures and backgrounds. I try and eat healthy, although sometimes the temptation for some of the bad stuff becomes more than I can resist. I enjoy eating and preparing good food and drink.
I don't watch TV, and haven't had cable in several years. I do enjoy watching TV series on DVD. Some of my recent favorites are Game of Thrones, Fargo, Archer, Venture Bros.
Six things I could never do without
I have traveled to many places and have had to give up many material items for long periods of time, and it has always been the immaterial that are the hardest to replace.
Six things I don't want to do without
Companionship/Love/Sex (in one person)
Fuzzy Critters
A comfy bed
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where I have been and where I want to go, both mentally and physically.
New hobbies to collect.
How to do more things for myself rather than relying on the "professionals" to do them for me.
On a typical Friday night I am
Typical is such a hard thing to define. I prefer to do many things when I can. Often I head out to visit with friends, go camping, travel, work, go out to a bar or show, or sometimes just stay home and take an easy night in, preferably with a special friend.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I enjoy reading lots of profiles here. Some are entertaining, some confusing, some downright disturbing. If I rate you highly, it is for two purposes. First, I think you sound cool, and wouldn't mind talking with you if you are interested. The second is so that I know I have looked at your profile and I don't accidentally keep coming back as an inadvertent stalker. I think comments in the questions are some of the more interesting insights into your real personality.
You should message me if
You are looking to meet new people.
You are looking to have some fun.
You want to go out for coffee or a beer.
You want to go for a day hike or a bike ride.
If our "enemy" percentage is high. I want to know why OKC thinks we should hate each other.
The two of us