33Charlottesville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Biking Banjo Hiking Bluegrass Sociology
I'm an a former and now current resident of CVille. Before that I was at a veterinary teaching hospital, a financial adviser to offenders in prison, and for five odd years I was in the Navy discovering Asia the hard way.

I enjoy cooking for myself and others, and I'm pretty good at it thanks to good parenting. I love Bluegrass and Appalachian culture in general. A good weekend is hitting the second hand shops, doing some cycle touring on the many back roads nearby, and getting something from the grocery store I've never heard of to try.
What I’m doing with my life
I've finished off my bachelors in Sociology and loved every moment of it. I'm currently working in the Commissioner of the Revenues' office with Albemarle County, and a student at PVCC because I go through withdrawal if I'm out of a classroom for too long. I hope to be working towards a graduate degree in a couple years.

I volunteer with C-Ville Community bikes a couple days a week, fixing up junkers and helping walk-ins with much enthusiasm and much less actual results, but I get to feel like I'm being helpful so that makes it worth it. If you want to see me enjoying myself stop by and watch me skin my knuckles and curse like a sailor.
I’m really good at
Getting started on a project or doing research and losing hours, sometimes days.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
FOOD! I love food. I commute on a bike so I can eat more of it. I'll try anything. I'm mostly into basic, simple food that looks unassuming but just taste great. I can do Chinese, Italian, and vegetarian. I can wing it with about an 80% success rate.

I listen to music with everything, trying to find a new song to live every day, no matter the genre. I once refused to listen to country or rap but I'm looking, and finding, songs to love there too. Asking me to name one group or song is hard, but just ask me for a genre or theme and I'll send three or four recommendations your way. I love bluegrass and folk music especially, and I've really enjoyed the folk music revival in America. I played percussion in school. I enjoy old radio plays such as Gunsmoke from the golden age of radio as well.

I read casually, mostly Terry Pratchett books and Hard Science Fiction right now. I follow world news and politics when I can and love to speak to transfers students and anyone with an interesting backstory.

I enjoy mysteries, thrillers, and psychological shows, but to be honest I don't have a TV so if it's not on netflix I haven't seen it.

Some specific flicks I have enjoyed are Mary and Max, Never Cry Wolf, Mad Max: Fury Road, Once Upon a Time in the West, Across the Universe, and Run Lola, Run.
Six things I could never do without
-Comfortable shoes
-Good Mustard
-A bicycle
-Food I haven't tried
-People to talk to
-My twin brother
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics and all the important but depressing things going on in the world.
On a typical Friday night I am
Trying a new resturant and taking a night walk after.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hate going to the gym, but since I hate being fat even more I go anyway.
You should message me if
You're interested in talking to me. Duh.
The two of us