49 London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I find introductions difficult (always have done, particularly in essays) so I will try the bullet point method to sum myself up:

- artistic and creative
- with a restless mind
- which thrives on the company of others,
- followed by a good dose of "me" time.
- funny when in trusted company,
- loving to laugh and
- craving the spontaneity of another person to revive my own, (which single parenthood had to put into forced hibernation for a while)
- attracted to the unconventional, non-mainstream but non-judgmental
- a spirit who occasionally goes on the rampage to try to break out of routine,
- who gets its kicks out of art and music. What a cliché, but true, nonetheless.
What I’m doing with my life
First and foremost, I decided a year or so ago, that I wanted to focus on making art, and therefore needed to find a way of fitting my life around this. Having worked on and off for large corporations for many years - and having always felt like a fish out of water - I decided that the time had come to opt for doing what I genuinely enjoy, and try to make a living from that. More easily said than done, I am now trying to find a balance between doing freelance design work and my art work. The reality of this is fraught with extremes - extremely rewarding, but extremely tiring, and extremely worrying at times! But it was now or never, and it makes me feel alive, and shift the focus from a life of bread-and-butter security back to one of self-development.
I work from my home in North London, where I live with my 12-year-old son.

To be continued ...
I’m really good at
Not blowing my own trumpet
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Graphic novels by Moebius, Exhibition catalogues, "The Corrections", by Jonathan Franzen. An eclectic array of music from electro pop like Goldfrapp, to afrolatin percussion rich tunes, to classical.
I just watched Midnight Run again for the first time since it came out, and it had me in stitches. So that's my favourite for now.
I eat any food that I don't have to cook myself.
The six things I could never do without
In no specific order:
My eyes
The potential to escape somewhere spontaneously
The "genre" category on Spotify
My son (although, being 12 going on 21, he certainly seems able to do without me!)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I will do if the UK votes to leave the EU.
Whether to stop using Facebook except for marketing purposes.
What a numbers' game this dating business is, and whether the effort is worthwhile ... But you'll never know unless you try it out properly.
On a typical Friday night I am
It varies. The master plan is usually to have a TV dinner and watch a movie with my son. But I tend to deviate from plans generally, so I may go for drinks or dinner with friends. Or go to a concert or gig. In the summer, I may be rummaging in the garden, pretending to know what I'm doing.
You should message me if
... you are independent (-minded), pragmatic-realistic - oh but idealistic too; are able to learn from the wisdom of children and laugh at the immaturity of grown-ups; are creative in any way; never feel you quite live up to what London has to offer (or feel you want to enjoy and discover it, but not on your own); like to look nice, but not vain; like to recognise and encourage other people's potential; speak and/or are interested in more than one language; are internationally spirited and believe "isms" of any sort (including patriotism) are rooted in narrow-mindedness; don't judge what you don't know; are savvy on social media but don't like them much or use them constantly; can live with your mobile switched off; are taller than me (i know, it's height-ist, terrible); aren't a couch potato; like philosophising; like or even love art ; and music (eclectically so); can be spontaneous but also plan ahead; make eye contact when talking to people; don't want (any more) children. I can't think of anything else at this point, but it's a start, I guess?