30East Berne, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Note: I'm not available for dating at the moment both due to busyness and because I don't have a car despite living in a rural area.

I'm interested in learning and making the world better. I'm particularly passionate about animal welfare and reducing suffering more generally.

I graduated from Swarthmore College in 2009 with a major in computer science and a minor in statistics. I enjoy academic subjects of all sorts, including neuroscience, physics, mathematics, psychology, economics, philosophy.

I value openness, kindness, and tolerance. A friend said about me: "Brian is honestly the sweetest person I've ever met. He has a genuine love for everyone, regardless of their flaws. His friendliness and sense of humor put people at ease, and he'll listen to anything without judgment."

Here are some links about me:
* An interview from 2012
* Academic website
* Philosophical website
Feel free to connect on Facebook.

I have decided not to have children because I would rather use the time and money required to raise them on activism and research instead. Still, feel free to message me if you’d like to be friends regardless of whether you want to have kids. :)
What I’m doing with my life
I research big-picture questions related to how best to reduce suffering in the world -- ranging from the cruelties endured by animals in wild ecosystems to how members of different value systems can cooperate for mutual benefit. I write about these topics for the Foundational Research Institute.

Previously I worked as a software engineer at Microsoft's Bing search engine. I mined large data logs, built ranking models, and evaluated why Bing did poorly on certain queries. I've also worked on machine learning and web development for a fledgling real-estate startup.

Until recently, I was on the board of directors for Animal Charity Evaluators, which evaluates animal organizations on their cost-efficiency. (By the way, it's not a big deal if you eat meat, because there are other dimensions of personality/lifestyle match that matter a lot more than this.)

I'm also helping to advise an organization called Animal Ethics, which studies and raises concern for the suffering of animals in nature.
I’m really good at
* Reading and writing about philosophy
* Probability, statistics, and machine learning
* Making dumb jokes
* Grammatical proofreading
* Python and Microsoft Excel
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm best known for my online writings about effective altruism and reducing suffering.
Six things I could never do without
* Sleep (on average 9.5 hours per night)
* My treadmill desk
* Discussions about academics and activism
* Time for getting work done
* Green vegetables
* Wikipedia
On a typical Friday night I am
* Catching up on personal emails and Facebook conversations
* Reading about physics, political theory, or insect population dynamics
* Skyping with friends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I love Mister Rogers' Neighborhood and still watch it every once in a while. Some of the songs make me cry.

Also, my belly is more round than you might expect based on my pictures.
You should message me if
* You share a passion for academics and/or reducing suffering.
* You are hard-working, frugal, and maybe aiming to make a difference in the world.
* You don't ever want kids (childfree). I have a vasectomy to ensure this. :)
* You wouldn't mind if I stay inside to work on my activism/research projects rather than going out or traveling.
* You're willing to keep finances separate indefinitely.
* You don't mind my walking on my treadmill desk.
* You agree that honesty is essential in a relationship.

I'm equally open to local and long-distance relationships. My last relationship was long-distance, and it was wonderful. Skype does a lot to break down distance barriers.
The two of us