46Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'll just get this out of the way and admit it... I'm an engineer. I like to think that as I'm apt to stare at your shoes rather than my own which makes me not only an extrovert but the exception to the sociability rule as far as my peers go... you'll have to judge that for yourself I suppose ;-)

My work is fairly serious and I'm serious about being a hard working, honest and forthright person...but I try not to take life to seriously. Anyone who consistently gets bent by the small annoyances in life a) hasn't read the news lately (are you really that bad off compared to the rest of the world!?) b) is burnt and needs a vacation (been there!) or c) is maybe just maybe having a rough day... in any case... quite a few of the folks I see/meet in the world need to calm down a bit.

Factoids... I hail from the Midwest but intend to keep Seattle as my home for the duration. I work long hours and really like what I do for a living. I'm able to work those long hours by not letting that happen every single day and by knowing when to shift gears and get the hell out of town or down the street for a coffee/tea/beer/good stiff belt. I don't own a car (hurray for Zipcar) and get around on my bike (and yes... it's a single speed) or the bus. I play guitar and sing (and no... I'm not shy about it). I can't dance to save my life... or yours... but I swear I will someday... dance that is. I've been an avid diver and surfer for the past twelve years. I started XC skiing a few years ago and love it despite needing a great deal of improvement. I also sea kayak, hike, fish, the usual around Seattle, etc.
What I’m doing with my life
Tackling the challenges of a new job... I still dive for work but marketing and business development are much more a part of what I do than design these days... I enjoy it and have the ability but it is a new level and set of responsibilities. A major plus is being an active part of building Seattle's infrastructure... this city is in the middle of several community altering projects that will affect our lives for decades... I care enough about this place to put my hand in at getting things done "right".

I don't think it means that I'm having an existential crisis but what I'm doing now will lead me in the direction that my professional life will go for the next long while... and that will likely be away form engineering.
I’m really good at
Bridge pose... or at least I like doing it. I've had a personal/home/class yoga practice for about ten years.
The first things people usually notice about me
My beard if I happen to have one at the time.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The Moon is a Harsh Mistress, Lawrence of Arabia, Frontline, most things except Top 40 anything... and I'm a sucker for female singer/songwriters, locally I'll go to metal/punk/alt country/bluegrass/blues/jazz/electronic... love sushi... don't like things with cream except coffee.
Six things I could never do without
My friends/family, ability to listen, capacity for compassion, patience, guitar, longboard... I could live without these things (drama!) but they are very important to me.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Not thinking to much.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, decompressing from the week, packing for a surf trip and checking the ferry schedule.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I studied opera as an adolescent.
You should message me if
you think that no matter the type of relationship... two wholes make a whole.
The two of us