Paultrie
39 Emeryville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Paultrie
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Raised in L.A. but eighteen year Bay Area resident. Early to rise, early to bed. I'm opinionated and not shy about it. Working on changing my world view toward a more tolerant, positive outlook. I'm a compulsive reader and enjoy conversation about literature, music, philosophy, current events, etc.

Not that I've answered nearly all of the questions available on this site but there are two that I've missed: "Do you prefer bathing to showering?" and "Do you enjoy the plaisir anglais?" both of which get an unreserved YES!

Another missing question: "Do you have an STD?" I don't. I'm not interested in acquiring one either. Syphilis appealed to me briefly after reading Mann's "Doktor Faustus," but not anymore. Just FYI.

Addendum: I am on this site because a friend of mine suggested that it will be good for me. I have my doubts, mostly because I don't believe as she does that relationships are fungible. If this strikes a chord with you please do message me so we can discuss the fungibility (sic?) or not of relationships.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a foreman for a construction company doing residential and commercial work in SF and the North Bay. I take my dog with me wherever I go. We enjoy the outdoors.
I’m really good at
Carpentry. Bridge. Reading stories aloud. Classical piano.
The first things people usually notice about me
My dog! She's very attractive. I wish I could take credit.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
None of the below lists should be considered comprehensive or definitive.

Authors I admire and enjoy: Thomas Pynchon, Vladimir Nabokov, Thomas Mann, China Mieville, David Foster Wallace, William Gibson, Evan S. Connell, Robertson Davies. As you can see I place an emphasis on style over content.

Actors and Directors: Bill Murray, Robert Altman, Martin Scorcese, Cate Blanchett. Actual movies are hard to list without involved critiques as to why I love them. Two in particular that I know I love are "The Life Aquatic" and "City of Lost Children."

Television: Battlestar Galactica, The Wire, Game of Thrones, 30 Rock, Friday Night Lights. Arrested Development. I have lived much of my life without a television, so my relationship with it is a bit weird. I wouldn't ever pay for cable or purchase a television, but Netflix is super freaking awesome.

Music: Raised on baroque keyboard music, have been exposed to and taken enjoyment from many other styles since. I particularly like certain types of rock and hip-hop. I can't stand most electronica, but there are some exceptions. Typically I listen to KALX for my surprise ear candy.

Food: I eat everything. Really.
The six things I could never do without
My dog, Shiva. She's not a thing, per se, but we are mutually dependent and symbiotic. The prospect of her eventual death is something I avoid thinking about.
My truck, Bessy. I couldn't do what I do without her.
Food. Naturally and literally I couldn't do without sustenance, but food is more than that to me.
Books. I spend a good portion of my income on books. Have yet to invest in a kindle and have a hard time reading books on a computer monitor. Something special about the armchair and floor-lamp and the heavy tome.
A powerful computer. Almost goes without saying. Because I'm a curious person and much of what can satisfy my curiosity is out there somewhere on the webz. I also like designing things and the computer programs that help with this eat RAM for breakfast.
Good friends. Not things except as they fit into the generalized category of "friends." Too difficult for me to parse in this particular format. Maybe I'm being too literal.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I tend toward the cynical and misanthropic. This is not to say that my life is joyless, on the contrary I find joy in many small things. It's the overall gestalt that makes me a tad melancholic. My automatic thoughts are frequently self-deprecating and pessimistic, however I'm actively working to change at least that part of my schema.
On a typical Friday night I am
Early to rise, early to bed, makes a man healthy, wealthy and socially dead. Because I'm usually awake at 5 AM, I turn into a pumpkin at midnight, if not before. Not an ideal dancing or drinking companion. I'm good for dinner and maybe a movie though. Better in the morning or during the day!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I admitted it in this forum, it wouldn't be private.
You should message me if
You like some of what you read here. You are articulate and thoughtful. You are willing to speak your mind and you know what it is. You need to value earnestness and crassness in equal measure. You need to be comfortable and cheerful in your body. You are up for taking a walk rather than having a drink. You're looking for a friend or activity partner first and a lover/life partner second. I'm not jumping into anything.

N.B. Please, please, please don't rate me highly and not send a message. I'll only know what you enjoyed in my profile if you initiate a conversation about it. Otherwise I'm flummoxed and won't message you.
More