33Alameda, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a Tennessee transplant and have lived in the Bay Area for about three years. I work as a jack-of-all-trades data analyst for a large university. For the most part I enjoy what I do and like the free reign they give me to do my job.

I am a bit of a weekend warrior. I've been rock climbing for around 11 years, snowboarding for two seasons, and golfing for about 8 months. Any excuse to wander about aimlessly in the sun is fine by me. My idea of relaxing during the weekends is to take a trip somewhere, hope I don't get too banged up, and spend the following day recovering around the house and out and about locally. I'm pretty high energy, but also can also be a bit a homebody (especially when I'm too sore to do much else!).

I'm a bit introverted so I come off as shy until I get to know you, but I can be pretty chatty once I'm comfortable.
What I’m doing with my life
That's the $50,000 question, isn't it? Before, it was get my bachelors degree, then get my masters degree, then find a job and start a career. Great, done, now what?

At the moment, I'm doing the career thing and spending as much of my free time outside and detoxing from staring at a computer screen all day for work.
I’m really good at
Figuring things out in my own bumbling way, sometimes to my detriment. I'd rather try to do something, see if it worked and learn something if it didn't. Google is my friend! Concrete example; with just a touch of a hangover, I replaced the broken pull cord on my lawn mower. With a bit of Google-fu and some swearing, I fixed it!
The first things people usually notice about me
Besides the stereotypical, "Hey, you're tall!", folks tend to notice my glasses. I guess they give me flair.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: My main diet is Sci-Fi and historical fiction. Alastair Reynolds, Neal Stephenson, Poul Anderson, Ken Follet, Edward Rutherford, and George Stewart. I typically browse used book stores until I've found two or three books that catch my eye.

Movies: I don't really go out to movies that often. I love Pixar films, sci-fi, and psychological thrillers.

Shows: Breaking Bad, American Horror Story, Mad Men, South Park, Louis C.K.

Music: Really anything goes although I'm not too fond of rap or twangy country. Parov Stelar, Royksopp, Caravan Palace, Darrel Scott, and the Chieftans are a few that come to mind.

Food: I'm pretty open with food taste.
Six things I could never do without
Friends and family
Being outside
Something to read
A car
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What are my plans for the weekend? Climbing, golf, snowboarding, clean the house, all of the above? Why does that person do that thing? I bet it's because of this reason. Do I do that? Is it because of this other reason? Hmmm...maybe because...ooh, hey a squirrel! Wait, uh, oh. Damn ADD.
On a typical Friday night I am
Goofing around with friends, at the climbing gym, prepping for a climbing or ski trip, or simply reveling in just getting off of work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a bad habit of leaving half full coffee mugs strewn about my house. Currently there is one on my toilet, bathroom sink, and on my coffee table. I'm good at all other dishes, etc. and am the only "housekeeper" among my roommates but there is something about coffee mugs...
You should message me if
Generally you see something on here you like. Ideally if you like being outside. I would love to find someone who is into taking climbing or ski trips.
The two of us