66 Berlin, Germany
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Lets be straight: I'm not looking for sexual partners. My sexual life was very satisfactory, but its twilight has begone. Therefore here I'm only interested in meeting people susceptible to become good friends. Some of those that I met through OkC became very close friends.

Here is an attempt to a summary:

I couldn't live on a desert island, I couldn't do without telephone, internet or Facebook - but I enjoy solitude
Conversation is important, but it has to be witty and never a monologue
I'm deeply interested in other people

I think politics is important
I consider political discussions interesting, but think that nobody ever changed his mind through a political discussion.
I dislike arguments. I'm rather coward when it comes to a dispute.

I'm kind.
I think sincerity is often welcome, but good manners are a necessary lubricant of relationships.

I like sciences as much as humanities.
I'm interested in the arts.
I'm greedy to learn
But I don't despise uncultivated people - culture is not the ground for reciprocal interest and respect - nor is the lack of it

I'm neither rich nor poor; I dislike avarice and pettiness.

I like to be on very late, but I'd love to wake up early : this is a contradiction. Not my only one:

I'm still close, and in some cases very close, to many of my ex partners.

I like real originality, but I utterly dislike the clichés of originality; I specially dislike people who are mediocre but try to hide it to themselves and the others by pretending to be original

I was bisexual until 25-27, then I lost the gay half of myself

I generally prefer to be with young people, for the older ones are often bitter and boring: they either complain, or are too proud; they either lost impetus, or use it to pontificate and lecture you.
What I’m doing with my life
Until a few years ago I used to lecture on recent Italian history in a university in Paris. Now I'm retired and spend much time writing academic articles and studying the history of Berlin.

I have many friends, but I'm always willing to meet new people.
I’m really good at
- at being sociable

- at being on my own

- at sitting all day at my desk

- at spending all day with friends

- at listening and being supportive
The first things people usually notice about me
That I must frequently pull up my trousers.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
All literature from Homer to Alice Munro. (But don't think that I read everything: far from that).

Music? All classical music, jazz and many songs. I don't understand many forms of labbelized music that the youngsters like. I don't know what those labels mean.

Cinema: old and new classics, but I missed most interesting movies during the last 30 years.

tv series

Food? All sorts

I don't dance (and I regret it); I don't do sport .

I love conversation.
The six things I could never do without
F: Freedom, Friends, Flirts

Input/Output: Reading, Writing, Learning, Teaching

Conversation: Personal life, Politics, The Nature of Things, Sex

The Arts: Photography

The Sciences: Practising College Mathematics, Studying History and Economics, Reading Popular Physics and Biology

My (female) young cousin
I spend a lot of time thinking about

My friends

Possible projects and Plans

Love, sex and the nature of human relationships.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working (and I don't say 'alas' for I enjoy it)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When nobody sees, I put my fingers up my nose
You should message me if
You think that we have something to say to each other