PhD_PeaceFamily
60 Somerville, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
PhD_PeaceFamily
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Peace - Justice - Books - Exercise - Family - Fun

Daily runner, ex-musician (though I still play and sing sometimes), kink-friendly computer scientist and ex-potter (ceramics), seeking friends or more for outdoor activities, applesauce-making, singing / making music, road trips, exercise workouts, cuddles, kids or anything in between.

For several years, as part of our wedding vows to each other, my wife and I looked for another woman to become a partner with us, in an egalitarian three-parent family. The idea was to build a more enriching and more eco-friendly family environment, with more kids, more helping hands and more fun. But the search was difficult and frustrating, since there aren't many women who are able to even contemplate such an arrangement. Eventually she got tired of the emotional roller coaster of searching, and gave up on that dream. After much complicated consideration we decided to go our separate ways romantically, though we remain close in other ways. We are now separated (relationship-wise), but we continue to live and co-parent in a large two-family home that we share with other housemates.

I have two great kids and I would love to have more in my life -- new or existing.

Values
I am deeply loyal and drawn toward lasting relationships based on shared values and great communication.

I prefer a healthy lifestyle, with healthy habits, weight and exercise. I prefer home cooked meals, mostly organic and mostly vegetarian (though some fish and chicken), but I am not dogmatic or rigid about it. I don't drink, smoke or watch TV, but I do indulge in dark chocolate. :)

If you have ever seen a red "MAKE JOBS, NOT WAR" bumper sticker, it came from me. I have given away over 10,000 of them since Bush invaded Iraq in 2003. I strongly support peace, human rights and environmental organizations.

Lifestyle
I tend toward intellectual pursuits, tempered by simple practicality and creativity. I have traveled in over twenty countries, and speak some Italian and French.

I also greatly enjoy simple home-oriented activities, such as making pizza with the kids -- including making our own whole wheat crust -- or canning home-made applesauce in the autumn.

Intimacy
I am attachment-oriented. My natural tendency is toward polyfidelity, though I am open to other ideas. I enjoy some kink / BDSM as one aspect of an overall relationship. I can be gentle one moment and rough another, depending on the situation and my partner's proclivities, and I have a wide range of appreciation.

Location
If you are non-local but think we have important values in common then I could still probably arrange to meet you sometime for a meal when traveling for work or other reasons.

UPDATE 1-Aug-2016: I took the kids to Iceland and England for a month this summer. They loved it! The excuse was to attend my nephew's wedding in Bristol England.
What I’m doing with my life
Doing my part to help support peace and justice, raising wonderful twins and looking forward to meeting other interesting people.
I’m really good at
Living with others in a shared household. I have lived with housemates ever since I started college, and very much enjoy it.
The first things people usually notice about me
My long hair, or the "MAKE JOBS, NOT WAR" stickers on my jacket.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Richard Dawkins ("The Selfish Gene"), Oliver Sacks ("The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat"), Almodovar, Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King, Jr., Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson, National Geographic, Philip Pullman ("His Dark Materials"), Maurice Sendak ("Where The Wild Things Are"), Winnie the Pooh, Roald Dahl, Secretary. Food? Simple and healthy. Dark chocolate! Mangos! Fresh bread!
The six things I could never do without
Family, ideas, justice, creative expression, smart people and hugs.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
(1) My kids. (2) Songs I'm mentally arranging. (2) How much damage Trump will cause to the world. We hope he'll be better than Hitler, but he could be worse. We just don't know yet.

More keywords to feed okcupid: activism, activist, social justice, environment, environmentalism, recycling, musician, Gandhi, Dawkins, Chomsky, Pullman, Sendak, basil, pesto, quaker
On a typical Friday night I am
Playing my guitar, playing a game with the kids, working on a project or making whole-wheat pizza at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Private things will have to wait, so rather than leaving this blank, here is a list of organizations that I materially supported in the last few years, in the hope that it will give you a feel for my priorities: MayDay.US (End big money's corruption of our democracy); New Hampshire Peace Action (web); American Friends Service Committee (AFSC) (web); Doctors Without Borders / Medecins Sans Frontieres (web); GreenPeace (web); Amnesty International (web); MassPIRG (web); Concord NH Quaker Meeting (web); Alternatives to Marriage Project (web); Action on Smoking and Health (ASH) (web); Canterbury Shaker Village Fund (web); Institute for 21st Century Relationships (web); Massachusetts NOW (web); RESOLVE of the Bay State (web); World Fellowship (web); Americans for Peace Now (web); Witness For Peace (web); Computer Professionals for Social Responsibility (CPSR) (web); One Laptop Per Child (web).
You should message me if
. . . you are interested in real life interaction. Although I am happy to use email as a first step, I will want to meet you in person as soon as practical -- lunch or hot chocolate at a cafe, for example -- as I have no interest in cyber-only relationships. If you are distant then meeting in person may take longer to arrange, but I sometimes travel to other parts of the country or the world, so please write anyway if my profile resonates with you.
More