Pomegranatejam
57 La Mesa, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Pomegranatejam
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi! I appreciate a mutual spark, a good conversation. Simple pleasures, laughter, feeling comfortable with someone. Let's try new restaurants, visit new places, do something silly like dance The Chicken Dance at Oktoberfest. I'm kind, and real, and salt of the earth, and that's what I'm looking for as well.

"I must be a mermaid... I have no fear of depths and a great fear of shallow living.”
~ Anaïs Nin

What you see is what you get--no games, no drama, no pretending, no gold digging...I just think life is sweeter when it's shared with someone special. I'm a hopeless romantic, and like giving little expressions of kindness to people I love (notes, gifts "just because", a massage, etc). i appreciate it when men open my doors. Old school chivalry. I'll expect you to pay for dinner, because that's what gentlemen do. But I don't take advantage, I just want to be treated well, and I'll treat you with respect back. I'll be attentive.

I believe in honesty, openness, and trust--these make up the foundation of any relationship.

I have been in several long term relationships, including living with a man for several years, but I have never been married, and I do not have children. It's totally cool with me if you have children though, and I'll understand your need to spend time with them. No problem.

I enjoy cooking and baking. Nothing sexier than a man who can cook--it's the simple things, like making a meal together, that add magic to life.

Bonus if you are a MacGyver type, or if you'll sing to me.

Yeah, I'm currently overweight (about size 12), but it would be awesome if you'd help me get back to a size 6! I don't want to miss out on meeting you now, so why wait?! Walking? Hiking? I'll try just about anything once.

Let's be clear: I'm perfectly happy being single, I just PREFER being in a relationship. It's more fun. But I just got out of a relationship, so I'm just looking to go slow right now and make new friends. See where it goes.

I'm an animal lover and believe their lives should be all about joy, so I'm often at Fiesta Island playing with a dog. I don't mind it if dogs sleep on the sofa or the bed. Brownie points if you couldn't care less about dog hair on your pants :).

I'm not into watching sports but it's okay if you are. Note I am vehemently opposed to hunting, so if that's your thing, we are not a match.

I love to travel--there's a whole world out there to see, and people to meet!
What I’m doing with my life
I'm very creative, and the plan is to start giving art clases around town. I worked a retail job for too long and quit last year, took a year off to travel and relax, and now I'm starting a new chapter. I'm always looking to grow and learn.

I am also a pet-sitter, and have met some amazing people and animals in the past 20 years. I also actually have certificates from two nutrition schools and am a certified holistic health coach, but not currently practicing.
I’m really good at
Spatial organization, visualizing results in creative projects, planning events, gift giving. I'm creative (I mosaic, collage, sew, bake). I'm great at coming up with ideas. I'm visually motivated. I also love to write. I can also talk with anyone, anywhere, anytime. It's a lost art. People feel they can tell me things.
The first things people usually notice about me
Big blue eyes, hearty laugh.

I can't be within a mile of a big dog without walking up to pet it and say hello. You've got to be cool with that.

I'm also quite curvy--hopefully you'll think in a good way
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
The Chronicles of Narnia, anything by Joanne Harris, Sarah Addison Allen, or other authors that put a little magic in the plot. Culinary memoirs and culinary fiction are favorites.

Favorite movies include Babette's Feast, Ratatouille. Bad "B' movies are fun, like the old Japanese Godzillas.

I have eclectic tastes in music and enjoy almost anyone live--especially alternative and reggae. Barenaked Ladies, Lauryn Hill. Steve Poltz is a great local act to see live. I love making mix cds for friends--yeah, it's old school but it's personalized, and everyone loves them.
I enjoy seeing plays also.
I'm mostly vegetarian. I do appreciate the memories and meanings that spices, smells, and certain recipes evoke.

Mid century modern/retro thrills me, including the rum drinks. Tiki Oasis, Charles Phoenix, etc. I've been all over the US at tiki events (think Comic Con meets the Mid Century meets Hawaiiana. It's so fun).

TV: ID Channel. I like creative who-dunnits or clever storylines.

Fave tv chefs: Jose Andres, Jamie Oliver, David Chang, Chuck Hughes, Rick Bayless. I love the chefs overflowing with passion about life, food, festivities, travel, joie de vivre.

Fave radio: The Fork Report (KFI640AM), 949FM. I usually listen to audiobooks in my car. When did I become my parents, lol?!
The six things I could never do without
The sound and smell of the ocean
Chocolate
My camera phone (I see the world in photographs)
A journal and a fine point pen
Recipes
My passport
(technically that's eight things, but oh well)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My mind is constantly spinning--I even have wildly creative dreams and wake up thinking what good stories they'd make!

And why the heck are so many guys on here atheists?
On a typical Friday night I am
It changes all the time. I like trying new restaurants, or cooking at home, or seeing live music. Just hanging out and talking can charge my batteries though--it is the connections we make with other people that make life meaningful and memorable.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You've got to get to know me first. Eventually I'll be completely forthright
You should message me if
You're single, available, and want a connection with substance. You can respond in sentences. Your profile isn't blank.
No married guys, no guys with girlfriends, no polyamorous, NOT seeking friends with benefits. I'm honest to a fault, live with my heart and soul wide open, am capable of intensity, loyalty, intimacy.
I'm looking for a man in his 40's or early 50's. Please, no 20-somethings out for a quick hook-up.
More