45Monroe, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi--If you're as sick as I am of seeing married people on this site looking to cheat, please take a moment to write to the site admins. and ask them to ban these people to make the site a better place for everyone. After all, it's called "OKCupid" with the idea that we're here to make love connections, not to help break up someone's marriage and destroy their spouse and/or children in the process.

***Requests: 1. If I send you an e-mail intro., please take a moment to respond. I'll show you the same courtesy if you've sent me a polite email. Thanks 2. Please FULLY read the "I'm looking for" and "You should message me if" sections, as a minimum, before contacting me. If I'm not describing you and what you want, and I contact you, it's fine, but please just say so (by responding to my overture) and move on. ***

I'm creative, possess a nice sense of humor, enjoy gardening and walks in the summer and cooking and hosting small and larger gatherings year round. Sci-Fi and Fantasy are my favorite genres to read, watch, and write.

I'm a Christian who doesn't attend church as regularly as I should but who prays daily and tries to live a Christian life. I prefer a clean and neat home. I'm close with my family--emotionally and physically, but I live my own life. I know who and what I am and am comfortable with both. While I would love to find the right man for a long-term (hopefully permanent) relationship, I am content to stay single rather than settle for someone who isn't a good fit. In a relationship I am the person who gives thoughtful gifts (two-dozen roses, each in a different color/hue, to an ex-boyfriend--ages ago--when he completed his medical exams, for instance, well before you could do this kind of thing easily), really listens to what my partner is saying, enjoys cooking nice meals during a date, and pays attention to your tastes and preferences as I would hope you would do in relation to mine. I've been told that I'm romantic, a good listener, kind, and a true friend.

I'd love to be in a relationship with a gentleman who can accept me for who and what I am and who fully respects me. Like me, he should be a bit old-fashioned but open to some new ideas. He should believe in treating a lady with respect, raising children with good values, and giving back to the world in a positive way. His friends/associates are likely diverse in age, ethnicity, culture, sexual orientation, faith, and profession but are ultimately "good people."

I prefer a man who's in the age range I specified, clean shaven, graduate-level educated, and with dark hair/eyes. I'm receptive to men of other races. While I've done the international relationship bit, I want to be upfront in saying that I'm not sponsoring someone to come to the US, so feel free to say "hi" if you can come here independently. Otherwise, you should focus your efforts elsewhere. (On a similar note, under no circumstance will I send you money, no matter how desperate a story you present.)

If you prefer a good book over a violent sport, enjoy an engaging conversation more than being in a crowded club/bar, and think that picnics, dinner with friends and family, and dancing to a cool song sound appealing, then let's chat.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a university director. I run a dept. of tutors and support personnel. I'm a former English professor, software trainer, medical and engineering editor/proofreader, admin. assistant, substitute teacher, and professional tutor. My career aspiration is to become a univ. VP, but it's not a hard goal. My #1 aspiration is to be the best possible mother to my son, whom I am raising with good values, respect, creativity, and lots of love.
I’m really good at
planning and hosting social gatherings (large and small), cooking, caring for pets (cats and dogs--former animal rescue person), gardening/landscaping (I'm not bad at it.), reading (love it but rarely find the time these days except for children's books), hanging out with loved ones/friends, teaching, and tutoring.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm thoughtful and friendly. I take my time coming to a decision about something but am fairly hard to dissuade to adopt another position once I reach a decision. PS I'm an intellectual. Chances are high that you'll need to be one too for us to work well. Then again, "never say never."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love to read and watch "GOOD" Science Fiction and Fantasy, per genre standards, not pop culture. I enjoy cooking family recipes and some new ones. I'm trying out some Japanese dishes these days with a reasonable amount of success. I enjoy soft rock and dance music that isn't crude. Specific favorites: Orson Scott Card, Anne McCaffrey, and Raymond E. Feist for authors; "E.T." and "The Lake House" for films; turkey soup with matzo balls and an English trifle from a 5-star chef for favorite items to cook; and Amy Grant, Phil Collins, Vienna Teng for singers
Six things I could never do without
1. God
2. My son
3. My family, including my cats
4. Reading
5. Living somewhere with a good amount of nature
6. Being around educated/intellectual people
I spend a lot of time thinking about
the future--personally (raising my son so that he becomes a good boy, young man, and a gentleman) and professionally (how I'm going to balance family life and accomplish my goals). It would be wonderful for there to be a special man in the mix.

I'm hoping to put on an addition, and make modifications to, my house in the next year, so it's been fun planning/considering the variations of what I might do and how much more we'll enjoying living here when it's done.
On a typical Friday night I am
eating dinner with my family and relaxing. With the holidays around the corner, I'm also planning some events to host and soon the menu for Christmas Eve dinner. There's room for one more person at the table if we meet soon and really click!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Worth noting: The question asks for what you're "willing to admit," not for you to share the most private things in your life. :o)

I'm actually pretty open about it, but some people would put it in a more private category. I used a semi-anonymous sperm donor to become pregnant. Therefore, there's no ex to contend with if we become involved. I won't bring another child into the world without being married first, but my son unreservedly is the result of the best decision I ever made. If how he came into this world is a problem for you, it's fine. It just means that we're not a good match for each other. :o)
You should message me if
You are legally and ethically single and are open to the prospect of a serious, long-term relationship with the right woman--not to be confused with "any woman." You believe that being sexually intimate is something that should not happen in "3-5 dates" or less and that, when it does happen, it is with respect and gentleness toward each other. You don't use drugs (other than legal ones appropriately), smoke, and/or drink excessively. You've completed at least a bachelor's degree. You are anti-abortion except for extreme circumstances. You understand the difference between wanting to be with someone and needing to be with someone (as in being dependent upon that person to make it through life). You are in the former category. You are a Christian who tries to truly live by his faith, which your answers to the questions on this site reflect.

If what you just read describes you, then I look forward to hearing from you.

If you think that I'm being too particular, I'll only say that I'm offering the same in return.

What you don't need to be: model handsome, wealthy, the life of the party, and/or the next Nobel prize winner. What I'm really seeking is someone who is a good fit for me and who lives by his values.

Best wishes to everyone here in regards to what they're seeking.
The two of us