33East Elmhurst, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I would describe myself as sincere, affectionate, and conscientious. My friends tell me that I'm witty and charming, but people exaggerate when they love you, so we won't take them at their word.
What I’m doing with my life
Just moved home to New York a few months ago. I am doctoral candidate completing a PhD in Clinical Psychology. Don't panic, I cannot read your mind, tell what you're thinking, or detect your lies (I do wish that last one was true). I do what I do because I believe in the power of human resilience. My job is to help people learn to help themselves. When I'm not a student, I'm a dancer. I've been bellydancing for over 10 years. Over that time I've also taken up ballet, modern, and a little tango. I'm a film geek. I have not missed a single ComicCon while living in San Diego. I like to learn. My next challenges will be learning chess and the piano.
I’m really good at
Listening, problem solving, giving support, cuddling, remembering useless movie trivia, dancing.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my sense of style, or my wit.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Frankenstein, The Metamorphosis, Henry and June, The House of Leaves, Diary, Dune, The Inhuman Condition
Movies: Big Trouble in Little China, Rebecca, Spellbound, The Matrix, Clue, The Lord of the Rings, Midnight in Paris, Poltergeist, Alien, all of Monty Python, all of Mel Brooks
Shows: Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones, The Twilight Zone, Twin Peaks, The X Files, Supernatural
Music: Portishead, Queens of the Stone Age, The Beatles, Black Box Recorder, CocoRosie, Goldfrapp, Joanna Newsom, Kate Bush, The Mars Volta, My Bloody Valentine, TV on the Radio, Mos Def, Childish Gambino, Depeche Mode.
Food: Breakfast! Sushi, Chinese, Italian, French, Seafood.
Six things I could never do without
I don't know that there are six things I couldn't do without. I listen to music all day, so I would probably say my iPod. I can do without most other things.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My own behavior; I try to focus on doing right by myself and others.
On a typical Friday night I am
seeing a movie and having dinner with my friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't like chick flicks, mostly because I think they are cliched and silly, but partly because I'm a sentimental sap and they might make me cry.
You should message me if
If you think of dating as an honest, sincere effort to get to know someone. I genuinely like people, especially people with manners.
The two of us