35Galesburg, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Life is an adventure, and I'm trying to experience it all. This stage brings me back to the Midwest where I've lived most of my life. I doubt I will move out again unless I go to Europe, but who knows what the cards may hold. Traveling the US and the world are passions of mine. German speaking countries interest me more than all the rest. I try to get there every couple of years, but I can never stay long enough.

I am enthuisiastic, amused, and inquisitive
What I’m doing with my life
After a few years, I moved from Tucson back to the Midwest. I just couldn't stay anywhere that riverbeds are dry 320 days a year. Now I'll need to check the weather channel, but that's the price I pay for living in the Midwest.

Now I'm teaching German and occasionally History to high school students in Galesburg. I am also starting a master's program. I run a German exchange program, coach Scholastic Bowl, help with marching band, and am the German Club sponsor.

I'm looking for a team to join for soccer, basketball, a racquetball partner, or anything to keep me active. I'd really like to learn lacrosse, or fencing or something like that just to keep moving. Ice skating is fun too, but I am not ready to do ice hockey.

I'd do some dancing to if it is planned out. I have done a bit of swing, but prefer the structured nature of Austrian folk dancing. Unfortunately, I couldn't find anything that approximated it in Tucson, but perhaps my chances are better now. but I still haven't really found this.
I’m really good at
Speaking German. It took awhile, but I am certainly fluent now, if I don't keep it up though my skills will suffer.

I guess I am also good at being friendly and outgoing, but I need some common connection like work or a hobby to do that.

This is where I should mention that I am excellent at Clue and have not been defeated since I was about 12. (I do not play often anymore though). I am fairly good at card and board games to, but I despise Candy Land because it's entirely random makes me lose my advantage.

Unfortunately, my gaming skills do not extend to video games like Bond where I am hopeless.
The first things people usually notice about me
Hopefully the big smile on my face. Friends notice that I am passionate about my interests and dive right into new situations. Students usually notice my ties.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite book is Catch 22, because it is so sarcastic and funny, but Brothers Karamazov, Robert Jordan's Wheel of Time, Tolkien, and historical fiction are all on the list. I read anything I have time for. I have been reading a lot more fiction lately including some easy reads like Divergent, etc. It helps me connect better culturally to students and some of them are engaging.

The movies I like tend to make you think like the Shawshank Redemption or Minority Report, but I also like some good German movies like Goodbye Lenin and The Lives of Others.

As far as TV I watched through How I Met Your Mother and really like Big Bang Theory. I will sometimes put on some Cutthroat Kitchen or other show in the background.

Generally I listen to rock or pop music. I enjoy Barenaked Ladies and U2, but I listen to a lot of German music at work primarily modern music, but definitely older music as well.

Food is important so a nice gyro, or bratwurst really hits the spot. Also I miss schnitzel tremendously. Plus I miss having people to drink good beers and wines (not the really expensive ones) with and am always on the lookout for someone who likes to try new beers or wines.
Six things I could never do without
I can't live without friends, speaking foreign languages, Northwestern sports, the internet, trips to Germany and Austria, and meeting new people.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hopefully out with friends, if I am not working at one of the High School Football games. Perhaps having a board game night with friends. Sometimes I am off to Chicago for the weekend, but most of the time I am here. Since I am taking classes on the weekends, sometimes I am just relaxing.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I used to wear ninja turtle pajamas.
You should message me if
You are interested or you want to know more about me.

Message me too if you want to show me around Peoria or the Quad cities or want a new teammate or racquetball partner.

And if you ever wore ninja turtle pajamas, or something more ridiculous you should send a message immediately.
The two of us