26 Babylon, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi! My name is Allison and I like parasols, pineapples, and physics, and my boyfriend Josh. Josh and I are very much in love (and monogamous), so I'm here to look for new friends and people to double date with. (And no, not people to have threesomes/orgies with. MONOGAMY.)

Here are some random facts about us:
-Josh and I met while volunteering for the World Science Festival in NYC, had our first semi-date at Figment (an interactive art exhibit), and rode in a giant Little Tykes Cozy Coupe on a ferris wheel at a Toys R Us on our first real date.
-Josh lives in Rockland County (we disagree about whether it's "upstate" New York) but drives down to Long Island every weekend to see me.
-I'm a Republican; Josh is a Democrat. It took us quite some time to learn to debate politics without biting each other's heads off ^_^;
-I'm a vegetarian while Josh will eat anything (but no, he doesn't have pika).
-We're both atheists with Jewish backgrounds (Josh fully, me half Christian, half Jewish).
-I'm a science person who dabbles in art; he's an art person who dabbles in science. If you're interested in the intersection of science and art, check out my Pinterest board: http://pinterest.com/ipskaya/science-loves-art/
-I'm a synesthete.
-Josh is a huge D&D/gaming fan.
-I have six pet rats whom I adore. I call them my yucklets.
-My patronus is a squid. Josh's patronus is a camel.
-I only know how to knit and purl, but boy is knitting fun! I want to learn how to crochet but had trouble getting the hang of it.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently a Stony Brook student double majoring in Physics and Computer Science and minoring in Mathematics and Sustainability Studies. (Yeah, I know the last one sounds like something only a hippie would study, but there's a lot more to it than you'd think. Ask me about it!)

Josh is a metalsmith who just got his Associate's degree in fine arts at Rockland Community College. He is currently working on his artwork and will begin school, most likely at SUNY New Paltz, in the spring.
I’m really good at
Math! And science, particularly physics. Math and physics are two of my absolute favorite things. I'm decent at debating politics.

Josh is really good at gaming and metalsmithing, which means I get a bunch of custom-made jewelry. So far, he's made me a ring (for our first anniversary), a squid pin, and two pendants. Check out his portfolio: http://joshuaharris.daportfolio.com
The first things people usually notice about me
My clothes, my hair, and my parasol. I'm also very outspoken in my classes. If you see someone around the Stony Brook campus with a parasol, it's probably me. Say hi!

Josh won't let me put the first thing people usually notice about him.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Brave New World, 1984, Black Holes and Time Warps: Einstein's Outrageous Legacy, The Elements of Style, Harry Potter. I recently read A Dog's Purpose and A Dog's Journey and I loved them, even though they had me sobbing through a good portion of them.

Josh's favorites are Slaughterhouse 5; The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy; The Lord of the Rings; A Song of Ice and Fire; I, Robot; and The Little Prince.

Movies: Spirited Away, Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure, anything Pixar

Josh's Favorites are Jesus Christ Superstar, Pan's Labrynth, My Neighbor Totoro, There Will Be Blood, The Silence of The Lambs, The Big Lebowski, and Pulp Fiction.

Music: Queen, Habib Koite, Andy Palacio, Mumford & Sons

Josh's Favorite Band is Electric Six.

Food: Diners, Italian food, Indian food

Josh's favorite foods are legumes.
The six things I could never do without
1. Air
2. Food
3. Water
4. Clothing
5. Shelter
6. Learning

But those are kind of boring, and I see that most people have them in some form, so I will add...

1. My Android
2. My family and friends
3. Josh
4. My parasol (only in the spring and summer, though)
5. My locker at Stony Brook (so useful!)
6. My beloved pets
I spend a lot of time thinking about
my ratties, the nature of space and time, the state of our nation and the best ways to improve it. Oh, and homework.
On a typical Friday night I am
going out to a nice restaurant, cuddling with Josh, and watching my rats run around my room. Maybe watching a movie.

Josh and I recently started a board game night with JonFromme. Contact me if you're interested in joining!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I haven't mentioned it somewhere in this profile before, I don't feel like admitting it now.
You should message me if
you are a geek and proud of it! And if Josh and I sound like intriguing people and you'd like to hang out with us. We both enjoy venturing into NYC, eating at nice restaurants, checking out interesting intellectual events, and seeing movies. If you want to go to the mall, I'm totally up for it and if you want to double date, will drag Josh along. Or it could be just the two of us :)

You should also message me if you are a Stony Brook student and would like to hang out sometime. I'm looking to make as many friends there as possible :) I commute, but I'm typically on campus all day on weekdays.

Also message me if you are interested in joining the aforementioned board game group! We could definitely use more people to play, and we'd meet somewhere public.

And finally, message me if you would like to teach me something crafty or if you would like to learn basic knitting from me (or both!).

Also, don't fear the "replies very selectively" warning on my message button. That's mainly because I get a lot of messages along the lines of "your cute, id like to get to know you better" -- in other words, messages from guys who obviously haven't looked at my profile. I'm also kind of lazy with responding sometimes, so don't take it personally if I take forever to respond.

If you've made it this far and are still interested, I hope to hear from you!