QuietNorthernGuy
37 Santa Clara, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
QuietNorthernGuy
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm from cold north of Canada, near the Rocky Mountains, where they keep the oil and cattle. I just moved back to the Bay Area from New York from San Francisco.

I'm good with my hands, intelligent, generally good company. I don't have to fill the air with extra words. I'm good at my job, and I love what I do. My problems are all first world problems.

I like to lift heavy things, I fast until afternoon most days, and I don't eat gluten. My daily meals are a barnyard holocaust of deliciousness (I eat all the animals), but I do adore vegans who can cook. I'm a complicated man.
What I’m doing with my life
I work at a tech company doing exciting things that I would likely do for fun anyway if I wasn't collecting paycheques for it already.

I relax by going to the gym, watching movies, or by reading. Although most of my reading these days seems to be technical.

I write evolutionary and machine learning algorithms to solve toy problems like the 80's programming game Corewars. I play with algorithmic trading from time to time.
I’m really good at
Talking smart people into naughty things, I got my knot tying badge as a boy scout, and I've been putting it to good use since.

I'm good at solving problems. I get to the bottom of things. I like to know. I'll tell you you're doing it wrong, and I appreciate people who will tell me the same.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't say much.
I have broad shoulders.
I own entertaining tshirts.
I wear converse and hoodies.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Blade Runner
Fight Club
Das Boot
Memento
Being John Malkovich
The Big Lebowski

Breaking Bad
Terminator
Dexter

Cryptonomicon
Diamond Age
Almost anything by Rudy Rucker
William Gibson's early books
Neil Gaiman

Black Americano
Old cheddar
Malbecs
The six things I could never do without
My laptop. My other laptop. My other other laptop. My number crunching computers. My iphone. My gym.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lifting heavy things so I can lift heavier things later.

Making things better, faster, easier.
On a typical Friday night I am
Working out? Out for drinks? On the couch with my laptops? People watching?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Given the opportunity, I'll likely hit on your Mom.
You should message me if
You think my wife becauseitsmad is pretty lovely.
More