27 Huntington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
-I really *really* love roller derby. I'm pretty good at it, though I hope to move somewhere with a bigger league so I can grow more, in the future. I will probably try to recruit you to skate, ref, or NSO (non-skating official.)
-I want to know more about your astrological sign.
-I'm a Leo and kinda enjoying this talking about myself thing.
-I'm stupidly direct. I blame this on being a Leo, too. I have trouble being coy or evasive. The good news is that you'll know I like you because I'll say "I like you." The bad news is that is terrifying to some people. Sorry, people that's terrifying to!
-Wanna watch horror movies? Kids in the Hall? Doctor Who? Groovy.
-I've got a fiancee (kilo_hotel), but I'm not just trying to fuck with people by having an OKcupid. It's an open relationship. We don't always know what that means, either. It's not poly, so I'm not looking to have another relationship, but you know. Hang out times. She suggested I not lead with the open relationship thing, so if it seems like I'm trying to trick you by telling you about myself before throwing out that major deal breaker, lemme know and I'll tease her about it.
-I'm also not exactly bisexual. I like 'homoromantic.' I don't buy that gender is binary, making 'bisexual' a ridiculous term. I have a hard time imagining myself developing feelings for a guy-minded-guy-bodied-guy, though that's mostly irrelevant since as I mentioned I'm in an open relationship with a woman who I love. I do find some guys attractive, so bisexual fits OkCupid standards better than anything else.
Oh and my actual name is Cait!
What I’m doing with my life
-Studying History focusing on gender, sex, and sexuality. Probably never making money, ever.
-Skating. Skating a lot. I feel like so many people have no idea what they want out of life, and I have a good idea but it's an expensive recreation rather than a paying career. But, hell, at least I know what I love!
I’m really good at
-Skating fast
-Baking cookies
-Knitting fingerless mitts (quantity, not quality. None of them are that impressive. Unless you're related to me and get them for Christmas, apparently.)
-Making cat toys
-Costume make up (mostly zombie wounds)
The first things people usually notice about me
My glasses, because they have turquoise flowers on them.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I know it's a cop out but I do not know how to fill these out, it's just too broad a question! I'm gonna just try and answer a few of them until I get distracted.
Books - The Little Prince, other children's books with beautiful stories and art work, such as Zen Tales, Harry Potter books, Narnia books, the Wool series, I'm half way through Moby Dick and really enjoying it, Fun Home and other novels that use a comics format without sticking to traditional comics themes, Kingdom Come and other novels that use a comics format and DO stick to a traditional comics theme, In Defense of Pornography, must books dealing with sexuality studies, and The Callahan Series by Spider Robinson. (Run on sentences prove how literate I am!)
Movies - Harold and Maude, The Big Chill, The Seven Year Itch, Gentlemen Prefer Blondes, Brick, Star Wars (obviously,) The Princess Bride, Empire Records, Return of the Living Dead, Night of the Demons, Valley Girl, Sleep Away Camp, all the Nightmare on Elm Street movies, all the Night/Dawn/Day of the Dead movies (including the remake that probably should have been called Mall Zombies,) Cabaret, Cabin in the Woods, Tucker and Dale vs Evil, Behind the Mask, the Scream movies (so, meta horror,) and Bollywood in general.
Shows - Doctor Who, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Adventure Time, Sherlock, Firefly, Star Trek The Next Generation, Kids in the Hall, lots of other things I can't think of because I've been listing for awhile... and if we're being perfectly honest I watch a lot of What Not to Wear and Say Yes to the Dress.
Music - We're gonna do broader strokes now. Classic rock, riot grrrl, I'm not actually that picky. I can do all the words to MC Chris's Fett's Vette.
Food - I'm allergic to mint and I don't like cheese very much, which is a little weird. Other than that I guess I try to eat healthy-ish. So, a lot of carbs but they're mostly whole grain. I drink coffee like it's goin' outta style.
The six things I could never do without
1. My skates (and pads and whatnot,)
2. My team
3. Piles of books
4. Friends (generic answer, but true!)
5. Coffee
6. Nerd simple pleasures (Doctor Who, Star Wars, D&D, etc.)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-How to arrange my life in such a way that I'll someday be able to skate for a top ten ranked WFTDA league.
-What would have happened if sexual orientation had not evolved historically to indicating authenticity of sex/gender identity and representation.
-Whether or not Harry Potter is a bit racist (scary long nosed people guard all the money, House Elves LIKE being enslaved...) and to what degree that should effect my love of the stories.
On a typical Friday night I am
Generally hanging out with folks, watching a movie, drinkin' beerz. Sometimes doing derby stuff but usually those things go down on Saturdays. Right now I try to make it to Sunday morning practices with our 'sister league,' which means waking up at about 7:30, so I'm definitely more likely to attend parties or go out on Fridays than Saturdays.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have general anxiety disorder, which I take medicine for and go to therapy for. I'm pretty open about this but I try not to bring it up so much because I think that makes people think I use the anxiety as an excuse in my life. Also I don't wanna be 'that guy' who is obsessed with being broken. I'm just very proud that I'm doing pretty well.
You should message me if
...You are awesome.
...You wanna be fraaands.
...You play derby.
...You want to talk derby.
...You want to play derby.
...You aren't bothered by the fact that I will talk to you about derby.