RainbowZinnia
27 Little Rock, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
RainbowZinnia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi there,

I'm 26-years-old, born and raised in Little Rock,AR (except the 4 years of college in FL). I have my BA in English Literature with a concentration in pre 1800 British Lit. Think Chaucer, Shakespeare, etc. I'm a huge dork. I'd much rather read a book or listen to music and knit than watch TV. Bones is about the only exception and I don't even watch it during the season, I just wait til it's on DVD. I'm really not into video games, WoW, Magic, etc. So if you're a big gamer I'm betting there's not gonna be much of a future.

I'm in Madison for grad school to get my Masters in Library Science. I hope to be a teen librarian and work with LGBT youth.

I'm really passionate about Africa and the war in Congo. Abuse/war in any form is never acceptable but right now the way that the women and children are being treated and the reason for their treatment makes me sick.

I love to travel and I hope to travel to as many places as possible. Last November I went to Nicaragua and helped build a village. Seeing poverty first hand put life into perspective. I taught a kid how to play frisbee and saw a school where grades k-12 were in the same room and had maybe 20 books, tops. That was a trip that I'll never forget.

I think that knowledge is about the sexiest thing in the world. I'm a complete bibliophile (lover of books).
I'm an open book (bad pun intended) so hit me up.
What I’m doing with my life
Grad school. Period.
I’m really good at
Making an ass of myself. Being awkward. Being a good friend. Making people laugh. I can make some bad ass chocolate chip cookies, too. I like singing and writing as well, I'm fairly good at both.
The first things people usually notice about me
Physically; my eyes. I have really long lashes and apparently "really interesting eyebrows." I guess sense of humor? I'm really awkward.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Reading is what I do:
Chaucer
Shakespeare
Half of a yellow sun
Thunderbolt kid
The Bean Trees
Animal Dreams
White Oleander
Harry Potter
His Dark Materials
Any of Neil Gaiman's novels
The Lace Reader
The Night Circus
A Wrinkle in Time
The Knitting Circle
The Red Thread
Hard Love
The Phantom Tollbooth
The Master and Margarita
So many more...

Musically I like everything. Seriously. My tastes range from The Dixie Chicks to Ani Difranco to Marilyn Manson to choral music to Patty Griffin to showtunes to opera to The Beatles to Madonna to Christina Aguilera. Really. As long as "bitches and hoes" aren't every other word I'm pretty good.

Movies are just about as diverse as books and music:
But I'm A Cheerleader
Shakespeare in Love
Angels in America
Imagine Me and You
Whip It
Scream
Halloween
A Nightmare on Elm Street
RENT
Hotel Rwanda
Crash
Sister Act
Bound
Never Been Kissed
10 Things I hate About You
Boondock Saints
Hair
Resident Evil

I'm vegetarian but Thai, southern cooking, Italian, Indian, and Mexican are my faves.
The six things I could never do without
Books
my animals
Family
Friends
Music
Sleep
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I'm going to do with my life. Chaucer. Library science. Love.
On a typical Friday night I am
Reading, watching a movie, texting with my friends and being called a cat lady. Occasionally going to a bar or two, always happy when my friends are successful in making me go out once I'm out of the house.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ask and I'll tell you.
You should message me if
You liked my profile or you simply want to talk. I'm a good listener. However, you have to say more than "what's up?" I need an entertaining and engaging convo. NASCAR and obsessive gaming are really big turn offs.
More