33Temperance, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm not really your typical guy. I'm a nerd in some ways (I enjoy video games and computers) but at the same time I love the outdoors and everything that goes with that (fishing/camping). I'm a big Detroit and UofM sports fan (yes all the Detroit teams, even the Lions...) but I also really enjoy going to more cultural events (plays/Broadway type shows/concerts). I like to think I bring the best of all of those areas together. I'm sarcastic often and intelligent. I have what I think is a great sense of humor that is as varied as I am. I can get a really sophisticated joke but will laugh just as hard at a dirty one.

The last 6 months I've been living a more healthy lifestyle. The college years weren't kind to my waistline (I wasn't fat by any means, but weighed more than I would like to or should). I've recently lost 20 pounds and plan on continuing that trend.*Update: down 25 pounds now and not looking back!(6/16/11)*

As you can hopefully tell, I'm as honest as they come. I've got nothing to hide and am pretty much an open book. If there's something that you'd like to know and I left it out, just ask!

I'm looking for someone that is serious about wanting to find a relationship. I don't have a certain type but I know what traits I'm looking for. I'm not opposed to making new friends, but I'm looking to find someone special.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm currently substitue teaching and working toward a teaching certificate in high school math/science. I have a bachelor's degree in physics and just need the piece of paper to begin teaching. So far I've been subbing for about a year and really enjoy it. Teaching is definitely my calling.

I'm also working retail at Cabelas on nights and weekends for some extra money. (Since it's the summer, I'm not subbing anymore but hours at Cabelas have picked way up. 40+ hours a week)

And if those are enough to keep me busy I've recently moved back home with my parents to help take care of my 84yr old grandma that has cancer. I'm her chef, chauffeur to appointments and her legs around the house(she gets around alright, but sometimes needs a hand). It's not my ideal place to live and has been a major adjustment since I had lived on my own since 18, but it needed to be done. Family comes first...
I’m really good at
I've always been really good at trivia type games. For some reason my brain has a way of saoking up random knowledge. Basically, I'll kick your butt while watching Jeopardy haha.

I'm also pretty proficient with music. I've been playing since I was 10. Brass instruments mostly, the trumpet being my best. Also a little percussion, guitar and piano although those are all self taught and coming along slowly when I have the drive to learn and the ever elusive free time.

I hate filling things like this out. Just feels conceded
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm always trying to make people laugh. I'm only serious when I need to be. I've also been told I have really blue eyes that can catch some attention.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I'm not much of a reader. I've just never had the attention span for it. The last books I read were for college.

As for movies, comedies are always great. Anything by Mel Brooks is great too. And of course, the guy in my likes anything that has explosions in it... the more the better. I'll watch anything though. Just like music I can appreciate most anything.

Shows: South Park, Family Guy, The Daily Show, Colbert Report, pretty much any of the original USA shows (Psych, Burn Notice etc), Mythbusters. I don't watch a whole lot on TV when they come on but Hulu is great. I just jumped on the Netfilx bandwagon too (I know, I'm a little late to the party) so I've been catching up on a lot of different shows during my lunches at work. Gotta love Netflix streaming app for my droid!

For food, I like all kinds of things. The exception to that being seafood. I've never liked it.

Music is something that I truly love. I play a few instruments and have a deep connection with all things music. I even got my concentration for my degree in the physics of sound and music (acoustics). I like everything from classical to hard rock. Just as an example, in my car I've got artists ranging from The Beatles to Eminem, Foo Fighters to Beethoven.
Six things I could never do without
-My family
-Great friends
-My dog Harley (although he's gone now...)
-Going up north on vacation at least once a year
-Technology (going to lump cell phone/computer etc all in one)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
All sorts of things. My mind works at a million miles an hour. It's a blessing and a curse at the same time. Trying to fall asleep sucks...
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing something with friends/family. That can be going out or staying in. I don't mind doing either. I also could be working or staying in to get up early the next morning for work. There's also the possibility for "babysitting" my grandma. Long story short there really isn't a typical Friday night for me.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
If I said something here it wouldn't exactly be private anymore would it? At least not open to the public like this. Feel free to ask me though...
You should message me if
-You're looking to find a guy that doesn't create drama or play games.
-You think I sound like the kind of guy you'd want to get to know better.
-I sent you a nice message that took some thought and is more than just one line. (note: I don't respond to those kinds of messages either. Hey how are you? just isn't going to cut it.)
The two of us