50Kirkland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Athletic Coach, Feminist, Dyke, Mom, loves Kettlebells and Z-Health, Bibliophile, Polyglot, originally from New Orleans, vivacious Volunteer, Social Justice advocate, Mentor, building Community, creating Sustainability, Living, Loving and Laughing in Seattle.

I am Passionate, Resilient, and Disciplined.
What I’m doing with my life
Volunteering with my daughter. We raised almost $7000 in 3 days for the Clouded Leopard Project. Attending conventions on nutrition, entrepreneurial pursuits and in Geekdom. Open to activity partners, meeting other lesbian moms who want to attend child/mom centered events and to mentors and other friends in all things health, livestock and beekeeping.

Living Gluten Free and Loving it! Practicing a Paleo/Primal lifestyle. Designing a cookbook for urban professionals featuring Creole cooking gone Paleo. Finishing my first novel that I began as part of National Novel Writing Month aka NaNoWriMo. Incorporating the calisthenic progressions from Convict Conditioning by Paul Wade into my daily routine, Swinging Kettlebells, learning Z-Health, empowering my daughter to reach and exceed her potential, designing a sustainable life, practicing Mandarin, learning to knit.
I’m really good at
Resilience, preparing delicious traditional New Orleans dishes at the drop of a hat with love. Active listening and compassionate communicating. Dancing till dawn. Expressing my desires. Balancing acts. Throwing a memorable dinner party. Seeing and encouraging potential in individuals and organizations. Making people laugh. Manifesting my dreams. Overcoming obstacles. Enduring through difficult times. Surviving to fight another day. Standing up for what I believe. Giving foot massage. Receiving compliments. Sharing my toys. Playing well with others. Confusing the gender rigid. Nurturing those I love and others. Being present. Exchanging power. Negotiating. Mediating. Celebrating everyday victories. Enjoying the little things. :) Making memories that last a lifetime.
The first things people usually notice about me posture. Kettlebells are amazing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Watching Torchwood, Doctor Who, Grimm, Firefly. Serenity. Currently reading Far From the Tree and Novella Carpenter's works. Daniel Amen's The Brain in Love. A Barefoot Doctor's Manual, the Alpha and Omega series and the Mercedes Thompson series by Patricia Briggs, anything by Laurell K Hamilton, lots by many strong womyn writers of too many genres but especially science fiction/urbanfantasy and medicine. The Inn of the Sixth Happiness. Celtic traditionals and rock. Folk music and filk, especially Vixy & Tony. Latvian chorales. Indian curries, Thai, Rustic Italian, Salvadoran, Asian, Sushi, Creole, Southern Home Cooking and my grandmother's everyday fare.
Six things I could never do without
VFFs, my new Spring 2012 Seeyas rock almost but not as much as my Spring 2011Jaya LRs! Excited about the new Lontra which I'll be grabbing a pair of in January.
Kettlebells, show me a better/safer/faster tool for busy moms to get and stay fit with and I'll update my list. LOL
Celtic music
and old growth forests.

Okay, so I realize I've listed 7. I can have it all if I'm willing to accept the consequences.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The roles of the Amygdala and the Cerebellum in daily life decision making. How a deeper understanding of Neuroscience will transform society. How to embody entrepreneurial wisdom for women, freeing women to dominate in the marketplace. Sustainable society. Touch. How to live authentically. How to serve society from a place of owning my power.
On a typical Friday night I am
Optimizing my social life. ;)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Twenty-five years ago, I was a Republican.
You should message me if
You have a powerful, personal understanding of neuroplasticity. You want to swap Primal/Paleo recipes. Mead is your art form. You are a beekeeper. You love the fragrance of old growth forests. You have experience ranching: alpaca, dairy goats, chickens, or horses. You own a pair of VFFs or a Kettlebell. You've found life way more fun when you're in motion. You are a Browncoat. You want to share an ethnic meal in or around Seattle or Victoria, BC tonight. You feel strongly that eating Pho is mandatory during wet or change of weather days. You have been taking bone broth daily for months to years and you know what a scoby is. You want a friend to walk with you around Greenlake even when it's raining or hike a trail and share a picnic lunch. You think there is no such thing as too many friends. You're passionate about empowering human potential. You're living the change you want to see in the world. You have or want children. You want a monogamous ltr, You're working/volunteering for social justice/human rights causes, You expect the best from yourself. You're becoming the person your dog thinks you are. You choose to be Firm and Kind simultaneously. You know that relationship is worth the work and are willing and able to excel in it. You know that your efforts are creating a more compassionate world. You've trained with Dr. John Gottman. You are deeply invested in your health.
The two of us