25Calgary, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a 25 year old ex-politician who just recently finished my BA at Grant MacEwan University in Edmonton, Alberta. I majored in sociology and minored in political philosophy. If you went to MacEwan, you probably knew me as that guy who wears lederhosen. I'm now in the second semester of my MA of Sociology at the U of C, and already starting to engage my hermit instincts! As such, if you're a local (or more-well-versed transplant), and want to show me around... (hint hint).
Shoot me a message! Fear not, I want to make friends too you know!

I'm from the NWT originally and lived there most of my life. I really enjoy cooking & I love and miss nature and the northern lights and my dogs, but seeing many of my friends in the city, not to mention all the things I can do here helps compensate. Plus I go home at Christmas & for the summer.

I drink a metric shit-tonne of tea.

I can often be found complaining about the weather (probably not in the way you think), and my friends are constantly joking about how everything I make turns into stew (it doesn't... Often... I swear!). I also have a tendency to tell people to get the fuck out of my kitchen while I'm preparing for a party or something.

I invite all my professors to my parties and ONE OF THEM FINALLY CAME (to one of my Robbie Burns suppers, and he brought his wife and beer; can you say 'awesome'?!).

I feel any form of communication on a dating site is going to be tainted by lack of inflection and assumed creepiness, so if I message you, please understand I probably just want to talk.
What I’m doing with my life
Starting my Masters in the Fall. Meanwhile trying to juggle friends, school, sanity, self, and social justice. It works sometimes.
I’m really good at
Schuhplattln, debate, articulating myself, tying a bow-tie, video games, Magic: The Gathering, curling, avoiding school work, sleeping, public speaking, making cabbage, making stew, making bannock, GMing, modelling (with models, not on a catwalk :P), being enthusiastic, dressing up, snuggling, sleeping, sex.
The first things people usually notice about me
My beard/clothes/enthusiasm in no particular order?
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Dystopian, alternative history, historical, fiction, non-fiction, fantasy, sci-fi, religious/philosophical texts, anything with an intriguing storyline and/or thought provoking argument.

Movies: (British) humour, satire, dark humour, adventure, sci-fi, historical/documentary, anything with a good storyline/compelling characters/anything by Joss Whedon/with Simon Pegg or Nick Frost. I also have a soft spot for movies other people might consider the height of cheese, such as Tremors.

Shows: Spaced, Castle, Fringe, Primeval, Tremors, Terra Nova, Supernatural, Battlestar Galactica, Game of Thrones, Buffy, Angel, Firefly, Farscape, X Files, Monarch of the Glen, Monk, Murdoch Mysteries, Dark Matter, Shetland, Trapped, Stranger Things, Occupied (there are a lot of good netflix shows these days!).

Music: I listen to a little of everything. metal, folk, country, hip-hop, rap, pop, rock, electronic, classical, pretty much everything besides dubstep; but even then, there are some pretty cool dubstep artists out there.

Food: Oh man, I love pineapple, green pepper, and cheese pizza; cabbage, nachos & salsa, perogies, sauerkraut, stew, veggie korma, stir-fry, bannock, potatoes, Fresca (it should be it's own food-group lol), and ginger ale every colour of the rainbow. I will try basically anything I just don't eat pork, and prefer vegetarian dishes (however I do still eat other meats on occasion).
Six things I could never do without
Culture, nature, breaks from the world, things & stuff, music, hobbies, etc...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Life, politics, romantic things, fictional universes, philosophy, society, revolution, history, sociology, the human condition, radical feminism, patriarchy, how to smash capitalism, anarchism, equality, gender, spirituality, etc...

I often get consumed by an area of research for a paper.
On a typical Friday night I am
Either gaming out in some way, shape, or form, out dancing the night away (a rare occurance these days unless someone can pry me away from whatever I'm doing - or not doing), working on my goat token deck (which is doing AWESOME, thanks for asking), reading, creating background stuff/preparing for an rpg, or watching a movie in bed. Or painting when i'm home for the summer... for weeks at a time when the job hunting is turning up nothing :P
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Despite my usually outgoing nature, I'm actually quite introverted.
You should message me if
I'm open to just meeting people because "friends are the shit" (Aristotle). In fact I've met a fair few folk who have I've become friends with on here! If something more develops, that's cool, but if it doesn't, that cool too :)

You should contact me if:

You need a date to a fancy get together; or if you want to come to my Robbie Burns supper on the 25th of Jan; or if you're a Link, Ganondorf, & Ike type of smash bros player; or you'd like to come enjoy some tea with me; or if you'd like to talk about my crush on Hegel or Bourdieu.

Please note: that because of a) who I am, and b) currently being a grad student, I often am very busy. As long as you don't take us not being able to hang out all the time personally, I'm sure we'll get along swimmingly :)
The two of us