36Tokyo, Japan
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Note: This profile was set up some time ago, and I am currently seeing someone. I am also not checking into this site frequently. However, I will leave the below profile as it was before. Feel free to message me if you want to talk. My original profile starts from the next paragraph. Thanks for reading!

Hello! I am a nice guy from Charlotte, NC. I graduated from college (at UNC Chapel Hill). I am a vegetarian, and right now, I'm interested in meeting other vegetarians from anywhere.

I love Asia, and I've studied abroad in Japan and Singapore, each for a year. Countries besides the US where I've vacationed include the Cayman Islands, Canada, Malaysia, Australia, China (Hong Kong, Shanghai, Hangzhou, Suzhou), Thailand, India, and Turkey...and I'd like to explore more of Asia and go to Europe someday.

I can only be away from Asia for so long, it seems, so in November of 2005, I returned to Japan to teach English. Now, I'm living in Tokyo. I would like to return to Singapore in the future, but I'd also like to go back home to North Carolina.

As for who I'm looking for... Well, right now, I'm looking for any cool friends. If you're a nice, compassionate, caring person, go ahead and contact me. As for a girlfriend, I want the same thing, but extra props to any fellow vegetarians and people of the more liberal (but perhaps not overly nonconformist) persuasion. And you should take care of your body to some extent.

I am reserved, compassionate, and liberal
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, I'm teaching English in Japan. I went through university and then got into a GIS (Geographic Information Systems) class for a few months and got a certificate in that. Then, I got an internship up in Massachusetts protecting some more or less natural areas using GIS and GPS. After that, I returned home to Charlotte for a while. But in November of 2005, I moved to Japan for the second time and started teaching for Nova, the largest English-teaching company in Japan.
I’m really good at
I'm good at listening to others. I'm pretty empathetic and nice, and I don't think I use people. I'm good at taking photographs and drawing, and yes, playing videogames. I'm also pretty smart, because I look up tons of information online (like at Wikipedia) and at bookstores, and I know a whole lot about the world in general, incuding geography, the environment, and countries.
The first things people usually notice about me
You'll notice that I'm pretty shy yet I like talking if I get to know the other person. Right off the bat, you'll see that I love travelling and other cultures, because I'll probably tell you a lot about my various trips.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love non-fiction books. I also read internet articles and the occasional manga. However, I do occasionally read fiction.

Movies and TV:
I like different genres of movies, from funny movies (Wayne's World 2, Airplane, The Naked Gun) to serious movies (Forrest Gump), to action movies (Jurrassic Park, Die Hard, Terminator 2). As for TV shows, I like sitcoms including "pre-1996 Seinfeld", Friends, Raymond, Golden Girls, and perhaps my favorites, Curb Your Enthusiasm and Scrubs, and Family Guy. I love the drama "Taiwan Pi Li Huo (Fiery Thunderbolt). And I also like the National Geographic Channel. I also play video games a bit.

I love 80's music as well as Asian music. They both have more great artists than I can name, but of the current bands, I'd say Hikaru Utada, BoA, Crystal Kay and Mai Kuraki...among many others. But actually, I'm not really into individual singers, and a lot of songs that I like and have are just singles from bands that I do not actively follow.

I'm a vegetarian. The kinds of foods I like best are:
(I also like some Greek stuff and various other kinds of food.)
Six things I could never do without
In random order:
1) a computer (with internet, etc)
2) vegetarian food (Italian, Indian, Mexican, Singaporean
3) friends
4) nature
5) travel
6) you?
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I will do in the future. I want to go many places. I am not content just living in my own little area of my own city and never seeing other places. I am frugal and save money, but at the same time, I think about when I'll have enough to go on my next adventure.

I also wonder if I will meet that special someone and get married someday.
On a typical Friday night I am
doing something like this...using the internet to research or meet people or take tests or have fun. I will go out occasionally...though now that I'm out of college, less often...but even when I went out more, I would still prefer seeing a play or a movie or playing video games or walking around the city/town or exploring some new place to going to a club. I'm not opposed to doing "cool" stuff, however.
You should message me if
you are a nice, open-minded person. For a girlfriend, a cute vegetarian would be ideal, but as I'm also looking for female friends, don't let that stop you. Asians, or people who have been to Asia (or any foreign countries) might get get a little extra interest from me, as I'm still in love with the outside world, and learning about other cultures. But at its most basic, as long as you didn't vote for Bush in 2004, you should be OK.
The two of us