34Denver, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I'm Chris. I noticed that about 80% of Women say "I love Colorado, and like all Coloradans, I love to hike, bike, climb and other outdoorsy things!" I can only assume that 90% of my competition says that as well. There is no way that's true. Most guys I know play video games all day (I don't even know where my old original x-box is right now). I, however, love Colorado and love to hike, bike, climb and other outdoorsy things. Really. Although my bike was stolen. :(

A little about me:

-I am an elementary teacher, with a Master's in teaching. I am planning on getting my doctorate in curriculum and instruction.
-I am a Denver native, and it would take something extremely special for me to leave Colorado.
-I'm a sapiophile (attraction to intelligence).
-Physical intimacy is extremely important to me, and i don't just mean sex. I just like touch (I tried to reword this several times...does it still sound creepy?, I'm really asking)
-I play the piano, and am slowly learning to make sounds that don't make me want to cringe on my guitar.
- I have a dog name River, and she is spoiled. She is always extremely friendly
-One of my favorite things to do is hike, especially in the mountains. There is a feeling I get when I'm out there; it's inexplicable and intoxicating. I spent all of July 2015 on the Colorado Trail (500 miles through the Colorado Rockies).
-I have completed 3 Tough Mudders, and am planning several more next year.
-I have played poker professionally for several years and traveled the world playing competitive laser tag (neither of which I do anymore).
-I am extremely dry and very sarcastic.
-I love learning. I read mostly non-fiction books, Wikipedia hop, and am always trying to take at least one lesson. In the last year, I've took swing dancing lessons, piano lessons, guitar lessons, skating lessons, got SCUBA certified and Spanish classes. This year, I plan on a cooking class, and am toying with the idea of something crazy, like fencing or skydiving (or both!), as well as continuing Spanish. Right now, I'm really into becoming a better rock climber.
-I work with kids every day, and enjoy it more than I ever would have thought when I decided to become a teacher on a whim.
-I have four large and very colorful tattoos.
-I drive for Uber every now and then. It is more lucrative that I would have guessed. I have plans of making my Uber money my "Spoil my future girlfriend" money
-For the first time in my life, I have my shit together. I have my own apartment, I have a satisfying job, I have the most awesome friends ever, live comfortably, and honestly love my life.

I have used this site off and on for a few years. So far, I've met some of my best friends and been out on a lot of dates. But nothing has stuck yet, probably because I was still figuring out what I wanted. I now can articulate what that is. I only really care about 4 things:

-Intelligence. I am a scientist, and love to talk about almost any "ology". My favorite is psychology. I am utterly fascinated by why people do what they do. I would love someone that could debate and share with me.

-Sense of humor. Whether you're infectiously bubbly, or dry and sarcastic, I'll be happy. The former makes everyone feel good, the later is fun to banter back an forth. If you have both, message me right now...I have to meet you.

-Ambition. I define ambition as having a job/volunteer that you love and believe helps society or you are working towards such a job.

-Active. The more hiking, camping, climbing, and running i do, the more I realize I need some one to be active with (even if it is a nightly stroll around the neighborhood).

These qualities would make an excellent friend. If there is chemistry, passion and a little dedication down the road....that's what I want for the long haul.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a Master's in elementary Education, which I use to teach special education for Denver Public Schools. I love my job and can't imagine any other field of work for me.

Outside of work, I've been training for the Colorado Trail. When I get back in August, I'll start training for my third Tough Mudder.
I’m really good at
Making my friends laugh, they think I'm hilarious, and I have no idea why

Working with kids


Poker (I played semi-professionally online for a few years, paid for a semester in my Master's program, and week long Vacation in the Bahamas, among other things) But that's not legal anymore. :(

Lasertag (I'm am literally an international champion)

The first things people usually notice about me
The great thing about working with kids is that they are still working on their "socially appropriate" conversation starters. "God, you're tall!!" I'm 6'5", which just barely allows me to fit in regular-sized doors.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Wow. Books: I love psychology books right now. Freakonomics, self-help books that are based on research (self help books don't hurt, but I read them more for the fascinating research and insight on why we do what we do), anything by Malcolm Galdwell (extra points if you know who that is). As far as fiction, Ender's Game (Orson Scott Card) is my all time favorite, I really enjoyed the Eragon series, Several Mercede's Lackey series. I am in a book club, which I love because it make me read things I never would have before. I also try to read some of the stuff pop culture latches on to every few months (The Help, Water for Elephants, Hunger Games, Game of Thrones, etc). At the moment, I literally have a pile of seven books on my kitchen table...Call it my queue.

Movies: I just listened a zillion movies, and looked at this huge block of text and decided to spare you. The only genre of movie I don't like is horror, because it doesn't do anything for me. However, I don't mind cuddling up with some one while they get scared.

Shows: I don't watch really TV. I actually can't... I never switched over to digital, and don't really have a desire to. My TV is only for my x-box, which I haven't used in months. But I use Netflix...My Favorite show is probably How I Met Your Mother. I own the entirety of Friends, which was a favorite growing up. I'm a HUGE Joss Whedon fan. I try not to watch shows until they are over, because "to be continues" drive me a little crazy. So I'm on a 10 year lag with most shows. Introduce me to some. I'm also a closet game show junky. I watch jeopardy while working out at the gym every day. People look at me funny when I ask random questions in an excited voice (Jeopardy answers).

Music: There isn't much I don't like. I love classical when playing the piano or relaxing. But my favorite is late 90s alternative. Stuff that was big when I was in high school. My very first favorite bands were Third Eye Blind and Emenem. Right now, my favorite is probably the Foo Fighters. But like I said, I'll listen to and appreciate almost anything.
Six things I could never do without
If you are someone who says "air, water," I roll my eyes in your general direction.

In no particular order.

1. River, my dog. She is awesome at cheering me up when I need it, and making me pet her when I don't.
2. My guitar/piano- I'm playing every night these days. It's starting to sound better.
3. My FamIly- the ones who I'm related to, and the ones I choose, who are amazing and super supportive.
4. Peanut Butter
5. The mountains- A hike in the high country makes everything better.
6. Kids- the ones I teach, the ones I know, the ones I want to have one day
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The nature of change and motivation. Psychology, and how I can get it to work for me. Books. The future, what I will be doing and who I'll be with in 5 or 10 years. Music. Reading silly things like Music Theory for Dummys or VBA programming. Liberals politics. My dog. What my next tattoo will be. Dreams. Do republicans sleep at night? (I always figured maybe in some sort of chrysalis).
On a typical Friday night I am
Out with friends, trying a new Bar.
Watching a Nuggets game.
Seeing a show (music or plays/musicals) mom and I see a play once every other month together.

I play lots of game things like settlers of Catan, Cranium, scrabble, taboo, and card games. Always willing to include more people. Interested? Seriously...want to play some games with several people in the early 30s?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I know the words to every Disney Movie Song from the 80s and 90s. And I can Quote most Pixar movies.
You should message me if
I guess I already did that part in the first section. Scroll up and see.

Don't be afraid to turn on your chat feature and say "Hi." I think its so much easier than waiting days for a message. I promise I'm not the kind of guy that made you turn it off in the first place.

I'd rather meet face-to-face and see if we have chemistry than writing trite E-mails. 5-6 back and forth messages are fine, but I think you can probably learn as much in an hour on Skpye, the phone or in person than 100 messages.
The two of us