32Norfolk, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
BEFORE I BEGIN -- I'd just like to point out a few truths that should help you get the most out of OkCupid:
1. People look 100% better in real life.
2. Give everybody the benefit of the doubt.
3. You got nothing to loose from a coffee date.

Part of my studies at Regent University involved a lot of time spent doing some introspection, self-discovery, and personal development, so here are some bits and pieces about who I am and what I'm about in life, hopefully you like what you see.

1. My faith, spirituality, and relationship with Christ is a BIG part of my life and my relationships with other people. This is a non-negotiable for me when it comes to long-term relationships, so if you do not want to have a shared faith/spirituality, then please understand that's where I'm coming from.

2. Things I value in people and life: Strength, Purpose, Ethics, Aesthetics, Forgiveness, and Freedom.

3. If you're into the Five Love Languages, the ones that have the most impact on me and "speak" the best are: Physical Touch and Words of Affirmation. I think it's important to share at least one Love Language with somebody in a long-term relationship because there needs to be an affectionate "glue" that holds things together.

4. Myers-Briggs Personality: ENFP, aka the "Champion". A big double-edged strength and weakness that I have is that I am very passionate and committed to stuff I care about and will put lots of time and energy into those things, but on the flipside when it comes to things I don't really care about or don't naturally enjoy I have a hard time motivating myself to get those things done. I suppose everybody is like that to some extent, but for me I try to manage by getting into constructive daily routines to cover the stuff I don't like doing.

5. I am very creative and expressive, primarily when it comes to music and food. I play guitar and enjoy cooking very much. My acts of kindness and compassion could be described as high sympathy-low empathy, and typically revolve around serving other people's needs by listening to them, being physically present and comforting, praying, and/or counseling them and giving advice if wanted.

6. I have dreams and ambitions in life, but none of them involve the corporate ladder, a six-figure salary, or flashy cars. When it comes to the long-term, big-picture things in life, I take them very seriously... but for the day-to-day stuff I try to have fun and lead a simple life by focusing only on the things that I find meaning in.

7. If you're around me a lot, I will randomly... obsesses over geek things like science fiction and theoretical physics, speak "in character" via some accent, make observations that have little to no value in a given conversation, and express my personality quirks!
What I’m doing with my life
What 2013 is looking like for me: I'll be in the Navy Reserve full-time for the better part of the year getting training because I'm converting from the Submarine field to the Intelligence field, so that'll take some time. After my training is done I'll most likely deploy for up to 6 months somewhere, so when I get back home I'll be going back to graduate school or starting a new career. My degree + skills + experience + security clearance gives me many doors to potentially walk through, so I definitely have a lot of flexibility in terms of whatever life throws my way.

What 2018 is looking like for me: I'd like to have a home, be settled in, have a job I love, and somebody in my life to share everything with!
I’m really good at
1. Playing guitar.
2. Keeping calm and carrying on.
3. Having personal conversations.
The first things people usually notice about me
1. My light-hearted personality.
2. My presence and posture.
3. My beard (when applicable).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
BOOKS -- Academic stuff on leadership.
MOVIES -- Science-fiction, Action, Drama, and Comedy.
SHOWS -- Spartacus, Mad Men, White Collar, Game of Thrones.
MUSIC -- Metalcore, Rock, Christian Rock.
FOOD -- American, Tex-Mex, Indian, Japanese.
Six things I could never do without
1. God
2. Bible
3. Guitar
4. Family
5. Friends
6. Basic material possessions that make life comfortable: laptop, cellphone, iPod, and car.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The present.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing dinner or movies with friends, playing a rock show with my band, staying at home and lazing around, etc.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am divorced.
You should message me if believe that we have some common interests, a positive life outlook, and want to get to know me better.
The two of us