RockingTheNW
29 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
RockingTheNW
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My closest friends would describe me as generous, caring, intelligent, funny, and easy-going. To be fair, I did ask them.

I grew up in the Michigan wilderness on Lake Michigan. Because of that, I have a deep appreciation for the outdoors. Camping, hiking, disc golf, sledding, biking, whatever - Any reason to get outside is awesome.

I love the rainy days in Portland too - I tend to always have at least four or five books that I'm currently reading, and will often impulse buy a new one as soon as it's suggested.

Moving out to Portland has sort of been a life-long goal of mine. Last year I was able to move out here for a job, and I've never looked back.

I am constantly learning and trying new things.
What I’m doing with my life
I have what has been referred to as a 'big kid job' working for a small tech company that customize databases for genetics testing labs. I went to school for Economics, so I have definitely felt a little out of depth at times - but the job does a good job of paying the bills and keeping me out of too much trouble, both of which I appreciate.

Outside of work, I love spending my time exploring Portland and the surrounding wilderness. I'm a huge fan of weekends - they're always a great chance to catch some local music or go hiking with friends (the gorge rules).

I've been working on pulling a band together since I was able to play full, recognizable songs on my guitar - so far I have a violinist. Playing guitar is a passion of mine, and I'm always down for a friendly jam session!

Secretly I've always wanted to be a writer. I have this idealized notion that I would just hang around in cafes all day drinking strong , black coffee and discussing literature with other writers. Until we moved on to drinking whiskey. The next morning I would wake with a battered, half-finish manuscript next me. In my mind, this is how being a writer works.

I'm also on Underdog leagues for bowling and kickball. While these are not the most athletic of sports, I've made a bunch of awesome friends and have gotten to be a decent third baseman. It's still a rare day I break 100 bowling though.
I’m really good at
Making things up as I go along.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that I'm ridiculously tall. After that it's gotta be my completely positive attitude and winning personality.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors: Hunter S. Thompson, Stephen King,Isaac Asimov, Kurt Vonnegut, Wil Wheaton, Neil Gaiman, Ernest Hemingway, Douglas Adams.

T.V. Shows: X-Files, Twin Peaks, Breaking Bad, Mad Men, South Park, Workaholics, Daily Show, Community, Parks & Rec.
The six things I could never do without
1. Close friends
2. My guitar
3. Writing
4. Delicious beer
5. An internet connection
6. Music
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with my friends - either exploring Portland or just sitting around a campfire with a few beers and my guitar.

I have been known to spend a quiet Friday night at home with a good book though.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I lost a bet to my cousin and ended up with a tattoo of neutron decay on my foot. It's super nerdy and I love it. My family is also super nerdy, and I love them too.
You should message me if
If you love going out and doing awesome things in Portland.
If I sound like fun.
If you want to get together for a musical jam session.
More