RoidesFaux
33 Champaign, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
RoidesFaux
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
32 year-old agendered feminist polyamorous atheist scientist.
What I’m doing with my life
Got a bachelor's in physics, then decided to switch it up and get a PhD in Biophysics. 2(?) more years to go! (I wrote that line several years ago, and since I finally got my prelim done in January it's probably accurate now.)

As a grad student, I spend my time doing research and teaching, and I love both roles. The former tends to be incredibly frustrating and stressful (the line about 1% inspiration and 99% perspiration doesn't leave anywhere near enough room for profanity), but can be rewarding when I finally get things working right. I enjoy solving puzzles and figuring out how things work, so it's great that I get to do it for my job. The latter (a molecular biology lab course) provides a more regular satisfaction as I see my students learn (and frustration because seriously did you not even *look* at the syllabus?)

I typically spend my spare time reading and playing video games. (I very rarely watch shows/movies except as a social activity, even when there are things that I want to see.) When I've been cooped up in my apartment for too long I go for walks in a nearby park. Despite the fact that it's less than a square block and I've been visiting for a while now, every few months I still discover a new species inhabiting it. (The latest is opossums [at least that's what I think they are.])

In terms of time spent I'm much more cerebral than physical, but I'm always surprised at how satisfying it is to work out when I go back to the gym after a long absence. I also enjoy randomly giving myself physical challenges. (Stairs? But there's a perfectly serviceable wall right here!)

My approach to relationships is anti-"one size fits all". Rather than labeling someone as a "friend" or girlfriend" or whatever and then trying to force that specific relationship, I believe in finding whatever mix of intellectual/emotional/physical involvement we're both happy with, and letting it adapt as circumstances and personalities change.

I identify as agendered, but you probably wouldn't notice unless I announced it. You'd probably just think I'm just a guy with an odd mix of non-masculine traits thrown in. (eg. I'm willing to admit to emotions other than anger and lust.) Gender is one of those topics I'm particularly interested in, so if you're curious just ask.

(This section used to be just a couple lines and I felt like I needed to expand it. Now I feel like I've gone overboard.)
I’m really good at
Games (board, card, video)
Listening
Standing on one leg
Playing with small children
Turning my computer on by stabbing it with a screwdriver
The first things people usually notice about me
I've been told variously: arms, hair, smile, and eyes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Authors (specific books): Lois McMaster Bujold (especially the Vorkosigan saga), Jacqueline Carey (Kushiel's Legacy trilogy), Ken MacLeod (The Stone Canal), George R. R. Martin (A Song of Fire and Ice), Alastair Reynolds, Kim Stanley Robinson (Mars Trilogy)

Movies: The Fountain, The Powerpuff Girls Movie, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World

Music: Mostly the pop/rock/electronica Venn Diagram. I have a soft spot for songs that mix bowed strings with electric guitars and/or synth. Recently: Abney Park, Babymetal, Birthday Massacre, Katy Perry, VNV Nation

Shows: The Blacklist, BSG, Castle, Dr. Who, Firefly, House, Sense8, Survivorman, Torchwood

Video Games: Civilization, Dragon Age, Dwarf Fortress, Fallout, L4D2, Mass Effect, Starcraft, X-Com: Enemy Unknown
The six things I could never do without
Computers (especially the one in my pocket)
Cherry Coke (although I'm trying to quit)
Music (usually have headphones on if I'm alone and not reading)
Books (always in the middle of at least 2)
Conversation (need a mix of profound and silly)
Touch (from "rated G" to "XXX")
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Science, sex, society
On a typical Friday night I am
doing the same thing I do every night, Pinky: working at lab; playing video games at home; going to the gym; or hanging out with friends.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can't think of anything I try to keep private.
More