HavraMM
32 London, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
HavraMM
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, I'm Ross, and I'm a country bumpkin who is slowly making the transition to being a full-blown Londoner (13 years and counting!)

I was originally drawn to London for university and have stayed as there's basically everything I could want here. Plus I want to delay buying a car until I can get a self-driving one, and so in the meantime need a good public transportation system.
What I’m doing with my life
After studying I took an unusual career path that has led me to become a management consultant, in a field which means over half of my friends and my entire family have no idea what I do! It's demanding work and means I often have to travel, but I find it fulfilling doing such a challenging job.

Outside of work my time is taken up with meeting up with friends (for drinks, meals, or board games), as I'm lucky that I have friends from school, uni and work in London now. I also like walking, both in the city and in the country, and I visit my godson when I can.

I'm also taking full advantage of my job and some sneaky holidays to travel, and in 2015 I made it to 9 countries plus Shetland (down from 13 in 2014 :¬( ).
I’m really good at
I'm a bit of a thinker so my strengths are things like problem solving (which is good as it's my job!).
The first things people usually notice about me
I'd say I'm quite quiet at first, but I've had at least 3 people tell me recently they thought I was an extrovert. One of these was linked to the comment "I love people who don't take themselves seriously!" I consider that high praise.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Bit of a list, but here goes...

Books: Catch 22, Brave New World, Birdsong, Discworld, popular science books, The Martian, and I really enjoyed The Dark Tower series.
Films: Too many, really, but to name a few: Memento, BASEketball, The Lord of the Rings, Some Like It Hot, The Naked Gun, Children of Men, Amélie, The Rock, Starship Troopers, Hot Fuzz (yes, more than Shaun of the Dead), Scott Pilgrim vs. the World, etc. etc.
TV: House, Black Books (I got to see two episodes being filmed!), Spaced, Futurama, random documentaries, Battlestar Galactica, Louis Theroux, and anything Charlie Brooker does.
Music: Mainly rock and a bit of dance and lo-fi... The Cooper Temple Clause, Queens of the Stone Age, Foo Fighters, Nine Inch Nails, Pendulum, Laura Marling, Blur, The Duke Spirit, Bloc Party, and random American punk from when I was at school.

And apparently Oxford commas.
The six things I could never do without
1. Music (although I'm on the 'consumer' side)
2. The Internet (and getting distracted by Wikipedia)
3. A bottle of water (I'm overly attached to these)
4. BBC iPlayer (mainly for the documentaries)
5. My tablet (as a piece of my home life when I travel)
6. Google Maps
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What to say next time I play that "two truths and a lie" game.
On a typical Friday night I am
Rather than say something vague and generic here are some actual, factual things I have done on a Friday night in the last year:
- Went to an Arabian themed Xmas party
- Sat in Munich airport lounge
- Got drunk with a colleague and his dad on cask strength whisky in a whisky bar
- Went to the gym
- Saw Eric Idle sing "Always Look On the Bright Side of Life"
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It's hardly private but I'm a bit of a geek and happy to admit that! That's the introvert in me recharging his batteries, though, so don't worry if you're not interested in my geekery as my social side always takes priority.
You should message me if
You think we have something in common and fancy getting to know one another, whether it's as friends or something more.

You're not disappointed that I lack a topless selfie.
More