59Ruther Glen, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have not been active on this site for over a year - decided it's time to try again. I am continuing to move toward new beginnings. Have been divorsed for 4 years. It's more than time to rediscover who I am and where I'm going. I have two fantastic kids (grown, married, and in different parts of the country), and two absolutely fantastic grandsons. I have done okay career wise, make a reasonable income, have a great home, and live a wonderful area. I enjoying eating out, wine feastivals, and going different places, but don't like to go alone. Don't really know about these online dating sites, but I'm willing to hang myself out there to see who I might meet. I'm looking for possibilities of meeting new people and friends; maybe to hang out, go out to eat, find local activities to participate in ... and see what, if any, deeper relationship might develop from there.

Other random interests (since this site says I haven't included enough yet):
hiking or walking
eating out, love seafood, mexican, good 'ole steak & taters, Italian - but for the most part, if it isn't moving, I'll eat it. (ok, that sounds bad)
movies, enjoy most but lean toward action adventure and horror
bowling, may not be great at it, but I enjoy it
sightseeing don't do anywhere enough of it, but I enjoy just getting out to different places and taking in the view and local attractions.
surfing, the computer and internet is a great place to kill time and explore new knowledge. Remind me to thank Al Gore for inventing the internet.
I enjoy having a glass of wine or beer (or two) either out or at home, but am hesitent to say drinking is an interest.

I'll add more as I think about.

I am down to earth, fun loving, and a great listener
What I’m doing with my life
I have a 30 plus year career working with the government. Most of that time has been in the training and education. Very much enjoy the job, but could do without the commute. Anyway, I'm now looking for new beginnings and see where life takes me ... or where I take life.
I’m really good at
If I could only use one word to describe something I'm good at, it would be listening. I care about people; I try not to presume or assume anything.
The first things people usually notice about me
Maybe a little shy, introverted at first; but I do warm up. I guess a comment I hear from folks frequently is that I always have a warm smile - and make people feel comfortable.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
From My Facebook Profile: Books: Stephen King. Movies: Horror and Action Movies. Music: Classic Rock.
Six things I could never do without
Family, Faith, and Friendships top the list.

If I stick with the letter 'F' theme then I'd add:
Fishing pole (I enjoy fishing, but don't know if I really would say I couldn't do without it.)
Fosters (the only beer I can think of that begins with 'F')
Food (okay, lame, but I couldn't do without it)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
If you believe all the self-help books, then guys spend 90% of there time thinking about ... never mind ...

I guess since I've been single again, I spend a lot of time thinking where I go from here ... do I look for new relationships, friends? do I just do my thing and not look for 'that special someone' to do things with? Since I'm on this site writting stuff about me, I must be leaning toward new relationships :-)
On a typical Friday night I am
likely to go down to the lodge for dinner and some beer, listen to some good classic rock (they have a great DJ), maybe shoot a game or two of pool.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You should message me if
you think we might have something in common, might enjoy each other's company. Maybe just to connect up and go out for dinner somewhere.
The two of us