38Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I've been in the city for a little more than a year at this point. Even though I love it, I'm still astounded that I still haven't even heard of half of the bars, restaurants, etc. that my friends mention. But I'm getting better. The upside is that there's still tons to explore.

I tend to be pretty gregarious and outgoing once I've met people, but I'm usually reluctant to be the first person to strike up a conversation. My humor tends to be witty/sarcastic. Although my friends have all sorts of different personalities, I usually do better in relationships in which the other guy is more relaxed and/or has a calming influence on me.

General interests: I'm a religious runner; a more casual cyclist; a fan of baseball, football, and tennis; an arts enthusiast; a coffee and beer connoisseur (OK, fine: snob); an avid traveler; and something of a political junky.
What I’m doing with my life
I just started teaching law school and love it. I'm still trying to learn the city (but so far, so good). And I can't figure out what my next running goal should be, but I'll get that sorted out soon enough. Right now, those are enough to keep me occupied for the short- and medium-terms.
I’m really good at
running, foreign languages, making pancakes (not hard, but my friends are always impressed), being a good friend - I should probably add "law" to the list if that's what I'm teaching, right?
The first things people usually notice about me
Hmm, I guess my eyes and my wit. (People don't typically mention what they notice first.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: pretty much anything by Dostoevsky and Kafka; I've also been reading a fair number of political biographies recently, and I've enjoyed almost all of them.

Movies: I enjoy movies, but I'm not a huge film buff. Kudos to Netflix for helping me catch up on some of the classics that my friends chastise me for not having seen.

TV: Dexter, Mad Men, Modern Family

music: my favorite Pandora stations are classical stations, Green Day, and Queen

food: Thai, Italian, Tex-Mex, but when I'm hungry (which is often) I'm not very picky
Six things I could never do without
In no particular order:
(1) coffee
(2) loved ones (family and friends)
(3) my super-comfortable bed
(4) running shoes
(5) sun (it improves my mood by leaps and bounds)
(6) words with more than three syllables (at a party, a friend challenged me to use words with no more than three syllables; I basically sat around in silence)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
where this whole academic thing is taking me (and, at the moment, the upcoming election)
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm not sure that there's a typical Friday for me. Sometimes I like going out with friends, bar-hopping or going to a concert, and just soaking up New York. Other times, I'm happy to ease into my recliner with a good meal and the latest delivery from Netflix.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have a running commentary going on in my head. After two beers, I'll probably admit a lot more stuff than that.
You should message me if
Delete the "if," and the sentence works.

I am usually attracted to guys who are thin and/or athletic with good smiles and a well-developed sense of humor. Beyond that, surprise me.
The two of us