31Berkeley, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
First one question, "cats or dogs?"

I'm just getting back into trying OK Cupid. Hopefully, I'll stick with it now.

I am a diverse person with a lot of influences from experiences in my past, and from living in China, Russia, Germany, Japan and Taiwan and traveling in many other countries.

I like: travel and adventure – getting off–the–beaten–path and exploring exciting places; humor; the outdoors; culture; mischief; why things are the way they are; apatheist; it's about everyone else, not me; music – anything interesting, alternative, indie or underground rap...and stream-of-consciousness...(obviously).

I am ENFP but took a simplified test.

I studied astronomy and geology, worked for NASA and studied Russian and Chinese. Now the founder and director of a company that explores the intersection between adventure and technology through internet projects and start-ups, and through which I also run adventure tours.

I respect honesty, am pro-women's rights.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm making a life of off–the–beaten–path travel around the world. For the past few years, however, I have been in Berkeley, CA, focusing on expanding a media base centered on 'adventure'.

I am the founder and director of The Best Quest, an adventure travel/adventure media company. Media-wise we update the world on the current status of expeditions around the world and also provide expeditions a way to get their photos, videos and stories to the world. We have the desire to bring fabulous 3D, virtual reality photography content of far-flung parts of the world to everyone at home.
I’m really good at
Being brutally honest - haha, no, I'm not tooo bad, but I really hate fakeness, playing games and bs-ing around.

I'm really more of a people– and social– person. I thrive at creative things, arts, languages.

And then there's the outdoor part of me. Mountaineering, jungling, scuba, rock climbing, kayaking, skiing, horse-riding/jumping, desert survival, sea survival - most environments covered.

Oh yeah, a few other things: making strenge accent, stunt driving, kissing (enjoy it/can go at it for awhile), adapting to diverse conditions and cultures (let's say, I'm flexible), walking on my hands (I'm flexible), I have animal-like instincts and sense of danger (my subconscious seems to look out for me), and sneaking into places.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have long-ish hair these days. My prof pic was from a year or two ago out in the Mongolian outback, but now my hair is longer. Check out my other pics to get an idea. My hair look dark when it's short in the winter and blonde when it's long in the summer.

I have my own style. Some people say I have a hippy/hipster look. Totally not into hipsterdom. I just have my own style.

People say they feel comfortable and at ease around me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music: JDilla, Father John Misty, Last Shadow Puppets, Kendrick Lamar, Mac Demarco, Flume, White Stripes, Tame Impala, Alt-J, Strokes, Beck, Pixies, Pavement, Black Keys, Digable planets, Tribe Called Quest, J5, Roots, MGMT, Jimi Hendrix, Led Zeppelin, talking heads, David Bowie, 9 inch nails, Cat Power, modest mouse, Caravan Palace, MF doom, dangermouse, Dan the Automator, gorillaz, beastie boys, the yeah yeah yeah's, Outkast, Radiohead, Elliott Smith, Clash. Madlib, Shostakovich, Prokofiev, Rachmaninoff, Rimsky-Korsakov, Tchaikovsky, Wagner, Saint-Saens, Creston, Ives.

Movies: the fight club, oceans 11, being John Malkovich, the Truman show, Shawshank redemption, the matrix, 12 monkeys, dark city, the big Lebowski, Pulp fiction, Avatar, Star Wars, something about Mary, blade runner, David Lynch and Tim Burton movies.

TV: the daily show, the office, community, Parks and Recreation, curb your enthusiasm, South Park, Seinfeld, GoT....but honestly I don't watch TV.

Books: I don't really give myself a lot of time to read, but I really enjoyed reading the classics. If I have extra time I enjoy books about thoughtful science-fiction topics and adventure.

Food: My favorite is Asian food: Thai, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Indonesian and Korean. I also really love Italian, Middle Eastern, Turkish and Mexican. Could the world's best dish be Kung Pao Chicken (Sichuan style) or Chicken Tikka Masala?
Six things I could never do without
1. Free time (to travel and explore) 2. Good music, 3. Good food, 4. Caffeine, 5. My overactive imagination, 6. Sleeping in late in the morning.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to explore. How to explore music, places and things, new, interesting and exciting information, food, and just about everything.

Why things are the way they are – i.e. what it all means, philosophy, the universe, etc. Philosophy: I am a fan of Descartes (Meditations 1&2 only), Berkeley, Hume, Nagel and Chalmers. I studied astronomy and still virtually explore the universe. In a world studies sense, I am often concerned that so many people in the world are not happy, and I think a lot about how to eliminate misery.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out on a high peak with a mission or peaking my high in the Mission (that's a 'natural' high, not herb-induced!)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like it 'dirty'.
You should message me if
You should message me if you have any inclination that we might have fun hanging out together. I'm fairly open-minded to a wide range of personalities. Take a risk! I think you'll have a blast, and hey, there's really not much to lose, right?!

Let's go grab a coffee or a drink. That will be the segue to doing LOTS of other cool things I can introduce you to.
The two of us